Some UI Issues

User avatar
GenBOOM
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:19 pm

Some UI Issues

Postby GenBOOM » Sun Oct 22, 2017 5:15 pm

The first big problem I have with the UI is that there is no way to check what a model of car actually has access to so that you know it will be built with the features you want to include.
Right now you may have done the research and set the model to be built but if you missed 1 upgrade that you are able to purchase it doesn't inform you of this. It would be nice if the game highlighted the stations in question and gave you an easy way to upgrade all the things you need to make that model happen.
The thing that I found really annoying was trying to figure out what stations I needed to upgrade and when I did upgrade them, the UI would show a pop up and remove the window so that if I had to purchase multiple upgrades it would require me to find that station again and upgrade things 1 at a time.

The second big problem is the way things are organized into groups. For instance with the slots, I would think that tires would be under fit accessories and not fit engine. The main issue here is the research window requiring you to go from one tab to another to progress down a single line of tech. I think this is not a good way of doing it and should be grouped so that its more linear but separated by category instead. Again wheels being under engine specialization research is kind of confusing.
I would suggest going about it like Hearts of Iron 4 and have a single linear tech tree for each category of parts, the first tab being the one that allows you to unlock the other tabs. I feel like this is more intuitive way of doing it and is a lot less confusing and going back and forth to complete a set of research. So each category like accessories, body, engine, chassis, paint would all be under their own tab and at the bottom of the tech tree in that tab would be a way to unlock technology relevant to that category. This means that, while there may be a lot of tabs, you should be able to fit everything onto 1 screen so that everything that is possible is visible immediately. A lot of time is spent on the research screen and currently its my least favorite part of the game because you have to hunt for things to get anything done, and I find myself dreading having to restart a new game to go through it again.

Maybe include a factory management tab somewhere where you can manage things like upgrades, research, design, power and fire the employees or hire them back as needed if you are low on money.
Last edited by GenBOOM on Mon Oct 23, 2017 11:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.
jpinard
Type I Robot
Type I Robot
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:49 am

Re: Some UI Issues

Postby jpinard » Sun Oct 22, 2017 10:19 pm

Wow it's like you were in my head. I wrote some of the exact same things just a few hours ago (edited for grammar just now). Bolded to express parts that need most attention:


GenBOOM wrote:The first big problem I have with the UI is that there is no way to check what a model of car actually has access to so that you know it will be built with the features you want to include.
Right now you may have done the research and set the model to be built but if you missed 1 upgrade that you are able to purchase it doesn't inform you of this. It would be nice if the game highlighted the stations in question and gave you an easy way to upgrade all the things you need to make that model happen.
The thing that I found really annoying was trying to figure out what stations I needed to upgrade and when I did upgrade them, the UI would show a pop up and remove the window so that if I had to purchase multiple upgrades it would require me to find that station again and upgrade things 1 at a time.


The second big problem is the way things are organized into groups. For instance with the slots, I would think that tires would be under fit accessories and not fit engine. The main issue here is the research window requiring you to go from one tab to another to progress down a single line of tech. I think this is not a good way of doing it and should be grouped so that its more linear but separated by category instead. Again wheels being under engine specialization research is kind of confusing.
I would suggest going about it like Hearts of Iron 4 and have a single linear tech tree for each category of parts, the first tab being the one that allows you to unlock the other tabs. I feel like this is more intuitive way of doing it and is a lot less confusing and going back and forth to complete a set of research. So each category like accessories, body, engine, chassis, paint would all be under their own tab and at the bottom of the tech tree in that tab would be a way to unlock technology relevant to that category. This means that, while there may be a lot of tabs, you should be able to fit everything onto 1 screen so that everything that is possible is visible immediately. A lot of time is spent on the research screen and currently its my least favorite part of the game because you have to hunt for things to get anything done, and I find myself dreading having to restart a new game to go through it again.

Maybe include a factory management tab somewhere where you can manage things like upgrades, research, design, power and fire the employees or hire them back as needed if you are low on money.


I offered some suggestions for the bolded. A right click or ctrl click to take us from the research item direct into the slot would help. Also a pop up message when you try to equip a car with something you can't actually produce would save a lot of frustration as all too often I've produced 25 cars only to find out the item I thought I was adding and manufacturing is still some distant point deep in the slot tree.
User avatar
GenBOOM
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Some UI Issues

Postby GenBOOM » Mon Oct 23, 2017 4:11 am

I don't think that taking you directly to the slot is the solution, because if you have multiple stations it should actually highlight all of them or give you a button to buy all the pending upgrades.

I almost think that the game needs like a model upgrade task manager so that no matter how you build your factory it can visually guide you through the production line that model is on and tell you what stations are not equipped to produce that model along that line.
User avatar
GenBOOM
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Some UI Issues

Postby GenBOOM » Mon Oct 23, 2017 4:42 am

Oh also there are some little things...

In the car design window you cannot use the delete key on the name of the car model and the scroll resets after you name it, making it more annoying as the game progresses. It would be nice if the tabs fit to the characters so that it doesn't take so long to scroll. The same thing goes for the production schedule UI.

The names are also inconsistent. In the design studio the Offroad is called a 4x4 but not in the car design window.

What would be even better though is to have a tab for each model of car and then a tab for all the variations of that model. Yes, its a lot of tabs, but its better than putting them on a single file list that takes ages to go through. It would probably be best if the entire design window was full screen like the research is, because as soon as you add more things to this list the problem gets worse.
User avatar
GenBOOM
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Some UI Issues

Postby GenBOOM » Mon Oct 23, 2017 5:20 am

I think I may have said this before a long time ago...

I really don't like research pop ups, I would rather it be a notification that I have the option to click on rather than something that jars me away from whatever I am doing and demanding my attention.
jpinard
Type I Robot
Type I Robot
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:49 am

Re: Some UI Issues

Postby jpinard » Mon Oct 23, 2017 5:39 pm

GenBOOM wrote:I don't think that taking you directly to the slot is the solution, because if you have multiple stations it should actually highlight all of them or give you a button to buy all the pending upgrades.


I would have it automatically open the tree with the slot item highlighted. Not sure if you thought that was my suggestion or not.
Steve-O
Senior Line Supervisor
Senior Line Supervisor
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:03 pm

Re: Some UI Issues

Postby Steve-O » Mon Oct 23, 2017 7:00 pm

Any chance we could get the UI to stop requiring an exact click on the + and allow a click on the whole button instead? And can we make those buttons 2X the size so we have a large click area. If I'm honest I'd rather the current slot UI was done away with and a more intuitive rotary UI or better categorized UI existed.

The thing I frequently have to do is scroll up to the top to get conveyors. Conveyors button should be located in the middle so it never requires scrolling. Maybe make a customizable dock-able UI which you could put buttons on. Or make a special button for conveyors and overhead stocking.

I just dont like the current build UI or how cumbersome it is.
User avatar
GenBOOM
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Some UI Issues

Postby GenBOOM » Mon Oct 23, 2017 10:41 pm

jpinard wrote:I would have it automatically open the tree with the slot item highlighted. Not sure if you thought that was my suggestion or not.

I do not think we have the same suggestion at all. I think you need to more clearly define what you mean.
sorry for the misunderstanding, I think I somehow read between the lines.
The first big problem I have with the UI is that there is no way to check what a model of car actually has access to so that you know it will be built with the features you want to include.
Right now you may have done the research and set the model to be built but if you missed 1 upgrade that you are able to purchase it doesn't inform you of this. It would be nice if the game highlighted the stations in question and gave you an easy way to upgrade all the things you need to make that model happen.
The thing that I found really annoying was trying to figure out what stations I needed to upgrade and when I did upgrade them, the UI would show a pop up and remove the window so that if I had to purchase multiple upgrades it would require me to find that station again and upgrade things 1 at a time.

Here I am talking about a way to highlight stations without needing to go to a UI except for mass upgrades. How does your idea differ? It seems like you are talking about going from the research to the slots? Why would that even be useful? I really don't get what you are saying.

To me your suggestion avoids the root cause being that the research/slot UI is poorly organized. There is no need to add a function so that you have a way to avoid the ui entirely, just fix the ui.
Last edited by GenBOOM on Mon Oct 23, 2017 11:26 pm, edited 8 times in total.
User avatar
GenBOOM
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Some UI Issues

Postby GenBOOM » Mon Oct 23, 2017 10:44 pm

Steve-O wrote:If I'm honest I'd rather the current slot UI was done away with and a more intuitive rotary UI or better categorized UI existed.

The thing I frequently have to do is scroll up to the top to get conveyors. Conveyors button should be located in the middle so it never requires scrolling. Maybe make a customizable dock-able UI which you could put buttons on. Or make a special button for conveyors and overhead stocking.

I just dont like the current build UI or how cumbersome it is.

I agree with you. I think that the top down list doesn't work for the slot UI in its current form.
I think a way to make it better is to instead of expanding the list downwards you could expand it to the right of the screen. So that you have less problems scrolling to a relevant category, but at the same time all the things building up to a specific station are visible where you are. Maybe permanently dock the most used common things to the top of the list, like conveyors, importer belts, stockpiles, demolition. If the text is too large, reduce the UI to icons only, with mouse over tooltips. That should make it way more compact and mod friendly for the future. Or do a combination where you only show the text of the selected station, and reduce the others to icons.
Steve-O
Senior Line Supervisor
Senior Line Supervisor
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:03 pm

Re: Some UI Issues

Postby Steve-O » Tue Oct 24, 2017 4:19 pm

Exactly, no more scrolling, and a permanent dock customizable or not, which contains the most frequently used items like conveyers and overhead material delivery rails.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7970
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Some UI Issues

Postby cliffski » Sat Oct 28, 2017 12:48 pm

Steve-O wrote:Any chance we could get the UI to stop requiring an exact click on the + and allow a click on the whole button instead? And can we make those buttons 2X the size so we have a large click area.



This, at least, has now been done in recent builds, it should be much more flexible where you click now.

I agree with many of the points made here regarding the clumsiness of the GUI, and do intend to address them in due course. Currently I'm working on hybrid/electric engines, but after that I will be in full-on GUI improvement mode to make the interface a lot more user friendly. I definitely agree that there are some places where the UI should link more intelligently, for example from greyed out slots options to the applicable research,. and so-on.
User avatar
GenBOOM
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 100
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:19 pm

Re: Some UI Issues

Postby GenBOOM » Sat Oct 28, 2017 2:28 pm

yay! thats great, I'm looking forward to it. patches that make the game more user friendly are the best <3
Steve-O
Senior Line Supervisor
Senior Line Supervisor
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:03 pm

Re: Some UI Issues

Postby Steve-O » Thu Nov 02, 2017 6:32 pm

cliffski wrote:
Steve-O wrote:Any chance we could get the UI to stop requiring an exact click on the + and allow a click on the whole button instead? And can we make those buttons 2X the size so we have a large click area.



This, at least, has now been done in recent builds, it should be much more flexible where you click now.

I agree with many of the points made here regarding the clumsiness of the GUI, and do intend to address them in due course. Currently I'm working on hybrid/electric engines, but after that I will be in full-on GUI improvement mode to make the interface a lot more user friendly. I definitely agree that there are some places where the UI should link more intelligently, for example from greyed out slots options to the applicable research,. and so-on.


The 1.36 Build has a very snappy UI. Not sure I like the destroy tool as implemented with a timer for destroy but it works. Game is really coming together.

Return to “Alpha discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests