[MOD] Linear Research Tree

Want to change the way the big pharma universe works? Have your own cool ideas for mods?... discuss them here!
SCHMID6SIG
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 6:12 pm

[MOD] Linear Research Tree

Postby SCHMID6SIG » Thu Sep 10, 2015 4:14 am

This MOD:
Rearranges order of Research items into a Linear Tree - also effects the unlock order of Research Items

Scenarios and Challenges changed to better fit Linear Research tree.
Unlock Basic Research only (and the dissolver or dissolver + pill maker in 2 Challenges)
Only 2 ingredients unlocked at game start

Drop # scientist for ALL non-value Explore to ONE (e.g. Basic Auxilliary, Alternative Delivery)
Drop duration for ALL non-value Explore to 5 days (or 10 days)
This is b/c they are basically just roadblocks in a linear tree
2 AI's (chan and jenny) modified to better fit the Linear Research Tree.
One Challenge forces the choice of these 2. Other AIs will (probably always) choke on linear tree.

Linear_Hell.zip
(5.26 KiB) Downloaded 132 times

=================================
Why do a "Linear" MOD?
1)Technical Demo of:
Research Tree - graphical placement and reordering of the unlocking Research Items
Changing the whole Scenario/Challenge Map
AI modification

2) Explore gameplay w/ a linear mindset.
I like the basic BP game better, but playing this does change your approach. In some
Scenarios the player is forced into a very narrow set of choices.
Also, a review/complaint on Steam said they found too much "randomness" - this didn't
completely remove that but significantly reduced in-game choices and (in some scenarios)
the "randomness" that is available. Thought you had too much randomness?
- try this... still complaining?

3) Encourage other MODs that play w/ the Research Tree. Maybe someone would take
the other extreme, a sort of 'fractal' tree, that leaves no Research Item more than
2 from the "Basic" (e.g. 1 to 4 to 5 item tree). Or split the Research Tree lines into
purely "Machines", "Exploration", "Cost-changers", "opponent" (Patent+Espionage).
And other ideas people may come up with.
enzymus
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2015 3:51 pm

Re: [MOD] Linear Research Tree

Postby enzymus » Thu Sep 10, 2015 9:57 am

Another possible option for the research tree (no idea if there's modding support) - only allow progression through the tree when a requirement has been upgraded to a certain level. So only open access to researching Global HQ when National HQ is level 3 for instance.
SCHMID6SIG
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 6:12 pm

Re: [MOD] Linear Research Tree

Postby SCHMID6SIG » Thu Sep 10, 2015 2:36 pm

Meant to put images of the Linear Research Tree.
This is after playing and unlocking about 10 Research Items, most Challenges start w/ only 1 or 3 items unlocked.
Hopefully visible that the "tree" snakes from bottom left to the top, back down, back up, etc.
linearMOD_All.png
linearMOD_All.png (75.4 KiB) Viewed 3223 times

And the Challenges screen:
Note the 2nd Challenge will confuse the AIs (altered versions of "chan" and "jenny") - think it has to do w/ only Research_Basic being unlocked, but in the 3rd challenge line (which has a few more things unlocked) I've had them perform well (maybe TOO well).
LinearMOD_Challenges.png
LinearMOD_Challenges.png (283.78 KiB) Viewed 3223 times
SCHMID6SIG
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 239
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2015 6:12 pm

Re: [MOD] Linear Research Tree

Postby SCHMID6SIG » Fri Sep 11, 2015 4:30 pm

enzymus wrote:Another possible option for the research tree (no idea if there's modding support) - only allow progression through the tree when a requirement has been upgraded to a certain level. So only open access to researching Global HQ when National HQ is level 3 for instance.


We can see the "upgrade" on items in the .sav file (for both player and AI) but IDK if there would be a way to modify the "progression through the tree" based off of that. It seems to me the lines in Research.data either unlock something based on a previous item or it doesn't - rather binary.

For example, I believe this line under Research-Forest "research_unlock_forest" (and its counterpart under research_start, AKA "basic research") tells the game to unlock Forest if Research_start is unlocked (and how they are connected graphically).
{"id":"research_start","start":"left","end":"right","receive":true}

I like the idea though.

Return to “Pharma Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests