Adding new perks

Want to change the way the big pharma universe works? Have your own cool ideas for mods?... discuss them here!
erisiah
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:31 pm

Adding new perks

Postby erisiah » Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:55 pm

I noticed a couple of odd things about perks while messing around with the game files. First, while you can add new perks, the perk selection screen doesn't scroll, so new perk #5 & up will never be seen. Second, the description text for the new perks needs to be put in the base game strings-<lang>.data file, despite perks being a DLC only option.
TwiceCircled
Big Pharma Developer
Big Pharma Developer
Posts: 444
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 1:23 pm

Re: Adding new perks

Postby TwiceCircled » Tue Oct 04, 2016 12:57 pm

Hmm, curious. Yeah the first one is just a limitation on the UI. For stylistic reasons I didn't want the perk list to scroll. The second one I don't really get. Can you not put it in?:

MM/strings-<lang>.data
erisiah
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:31 pm

Re: Adding new perks

Postby erisiah » Wed Oct 05, 2016 9:48 pm

Here's how I have it setup: in the MM/perks.data file, I have the following perk added:

Code: Select all

   {
      "id":"executive2",
      "image":"gui_marketing_perk_executive_0000",
      "yields":[
         {"floatValue":{"id":"refundRatio","change":50}},
         {"intValue":{"id":"numberOfExecutives","change":6}}
      ]
   }


In the MM/strings-en.data file, I have the perk descriptions as follows:

Code: Select all

[
   // New Executive Perk
   {"code":"perk.executive2","text":"Excellent Executive"},
   {"code":"perk.executive2.desc","text":"Start the game with 6 bonus Executives."},   

]


When I open the program and start a new game, my new perk shows up like this:
Image

When I copy or move the strings-en.data to the base of the mod folder, the new perk name & description shows up fine:
Image
TwiceCircled
Big Pharma Developer
Big Pharma Developer
Posts: 444
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 1:23 pm

Re: Adding new perks

Postby TwiceCircled » Fri Oct 07, 2016 1:21 pm

That's really odd. Thank you for the heads-up. I can't check it out just now because I'm going away for a week but I'll take a look when I get back and see if I can get this fixed. :)

Return to “Pharma Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests