Total Conversion Mod support

Welcome to the galaxy of modding. Ask your questions, post your mods, explore the universe of galactic modding...
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7968
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Total Conversion Mod support

Postby cliffski » Wed Mar 25, 2015 5:41 pm

As of the next build...
11) Total conversion mod support: Base game can now be disabled under mods.

So you can just disable the whole game in the mod control panel. Warning: Ship design screen may crash until you enable a mod that contains some sample ships. But in principle, you can now replace pretty much everything.

User avatar
dafrandle
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 8:04 pm

Re: Total Conversion Mod support

Postby dafrandle » Wed Mar 25, 2015 9:21 pm

question, can you control the z level a ship will be at in battle?


i want navy ship water gratuitous battle thats why i want to know
(dont you hate when your submarines sail over your fighter bombers)
having a job has allowed me to understand why Archduke Astro has no time to work on his mods

User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7968
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Total Conversion Mod support

Postby cliffski » Thu Mar 26, 2015 5:04 pm

Hmmm, not at the moment, I'm afraid its randomly distributed :(

User avatar
GATC
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 295
Joined: Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:10 am
Location: France

Re: Total Conversion Mod support

Postby GATC » Fri Mar 27, 2015 6:22 am

Can't you add some kind of variable before the randomiser? (that we will be able to change a bit?)
Xedilco are coming for you! http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=5506

User avatar
TheMightyCat11
Type III Robot
Type III Robot
Posts: 87
Joined: Thu Aug 29, 2013 10:49 am

Re: Total Conversion Mod support

Postby TheMightyCat11 » Sat Apr 04, 2015 6:40 pm

Some sort of way to set the level at which ships are would be pretty nice.
My mods:
The Slavoni Imperium: http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=9785
Pandora: Flames of War: http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=9978

User avatar
Archduke Astro
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 1654
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:09 pm
Location: Building The Future.

Re: Total Conversion Mod support

Postby Archduke Astro » Fri Apr 24, 2015 6:28 am

I, too, support modder-specified z-axis values for ships instead of purely random values. This requested ability exists at the union of both artistic as well as tactical expression via modding. The more control in the hands of the modders, the better content we can create for the players.

As for the extreme (extremely wonderful, that is!) "single-toggle" ability to deactivate the official game content for purposes of replacing it with a TC-type mod..... sweet! Cliff, thank you for implementing this feature. I can't wait to try this out as soon as time allows; it's a big part of extending the usability of my game purchase.
.
•• Positech Global Moderator & Forum Sheriff ••
GSB "Combined-Arms Combat" Advocate & Analyst
Enemy of Forum Lulz | Defender of Faction Diversity

∞∆……CURATOR OF CREATIVE CONCEPTS for GSB's Friendly Community Mod Squad……∆∞

User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7968
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Total Conversion Mod support

Postby cliffski » Fri Apr 24, 2015 10:05 am

In terms of setting the Z value, are you requesting an option to set the dispersion of it globally on the options screen, or you want to be able to override the z value of a placed ship in a deployment file? Would it be helpful to allow that, but have it just in the text file (rather than have a deployment-screen gui to set it)?

User avatar
darkstar076
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 2200
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:14 am
Location: Lurking somewhere in the Forum

Re: Total Conversion Mod support

Postby darkstar076 » Fri Apr 24, 2015 10:11 am

Personally, I would like to be able to over ride the Z value for the enemy fleet. (the AI Fleet deployment modders use to create scenarios)

Case in point. if someone wants to make a large space station made out of several "hulls" you would need the ability to ensure that each hull is at the same Z depth or it will alter the proportions / size of the various components.

I can show you an example in GSB 1 if I am not making sense.
Wisdom is something you generally obtain around three seconds after you needed it the most
-=Modding Guru & Egon Spengler of the Friendly Community Mod Squad=-

User avatar
Archduke Astro
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 1654
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:09 pm
Location: Building The Future.

Re: Total Conversion Mod support

Postby Archduke Astro » Fri Apr 24, 2015 10:25 am

cliffski wrote:In terms of setting the Z value, are you requesting an option to set the dispersion of it globally on the options screen, or you want to be able to override the z value of a placed ship in a deployment file? Would it be helpful to allow that, but have it just in the text file (rather than have a deployment-screen gui to set it)?

Within the deployment file, please.


darkstar076 wrote:Personally, I would like to be able to over ride the Z value for the enemy fleet. (the AI Fleet deployment modders use to create scenarios)

Case in point. if someone wants to make a large space station made out of several "hulls" you would need the ability to ensure that each hull is at the same Z depth or it will alter the proportions / size of the various components.

I can show you an example in GSB 1 if I am not making sense.

Cliff, I also fully support darkstar076's described use of modder-specified Z-value.
.
•• Positech Global Moderator & Forum Sheriff ••
GSB "Combined-Arms Combat" Advocate & Analyst
Enemy of Forum Lulz | Defender of Faction Diversity

∞∆……CURATOR OF CREATIVE CONCEPTS for GSB's Friendly Community Mod Squad……∆∞

User avatar
dafrandle
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 8:04 pm

Re: Total Conversion Mod support

Postby dafrandle » Fri Apr 24, 2015 11:19 pm

the reason i want (im sure i already mentioned it)

is that i may want to make a mod (may as in might) where its boats in the sea, so then i wouldn't want my submarines for example to fly over torpideo bombers
having a job has allowed me to understand why Archduke Astro has no time to work on his mods


Return to “GSB2 Modding Galaxy”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest