Something new...(Hidden hulls)

User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7972
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Something new...(Hidden hulls)

Postby cliffski » Tue May 19, 2015 7:56 pm

For the next patch...you can turn the hull layer 'off' so its invisible, making for more adventurous designs...
newdesigns.png
newdesigns.png (1.75 MiB) Viewed 4547 times

aiven
Senior Line Supervisor
Senior Line Supervisor
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 11:13 am

Re: Something new...(Hidden hulls)

Postby aiven » Tue May 19, 2015 8:17 pm

Awesome, thought about something like this :)

User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7972
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Something new...(Hidden hulls)

Postby cliffski » Wed May 20, 2015 2:02 pm

I have found some composite bugs...but even so, this was fun to design :D
round.jpg
round.jpg (353.2 KiB) Viewed 4523 times

aiven
Senior Line Supervisor
Senior Line Supervisor
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2015 11:13 am

Re: Something new...(Hidden hulls)

Postby aiven » Wed May 20, 2015 7:06 pm

Will it be possible to move weapon slots too?

User avatar
Archduke Astro
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 1654
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:09 pm
Location: Building The Future.

Re: Something new...(Hidden hulls)

Postby Archduke Astro » Wed May 20, 2015 7:48 pm

Interesting question, aiven. I can't help but wonder about how much that might potentially tie-in to this functionality.
.
•• Positech Global Moderator & Forum Sheriff ••
GSB "Combined-Arms Combat" Advocate & Analyst
Enemy of Forum Lulz | Defender of Faction Diversity

∞∆……CURATOR OF CREATIVE CONCEPTS for GSB's Friendly Community Mod Squad……∆∞

User avatar
Sable Phoenix
Type III Robot
Type III Robot
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:58 pm

Re: Something new...(Hidden hulls)

Postby Sable Phoenix » Wed May 20, 2015 11:00 pm

FINALLY! Thank god! Yes, cliffski is god.

I've wanted this since Beta. I never even thought to ask, I just assumed the game would break.

User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7972
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Something new...(Hidden hulls)

Postby cliffski » Thu May 21, 2015 8:20 pm

You cannot move turrets, that would be a balance nightmare and mean ships looked a bit too weird. Here is a video with me showing how it works...
https://youtu.be/02yVgVWdTM0

Something of interest to modders...

You may notice that the 'composites' folder that renders out ship layers does not include the turrets. What this means is you can now design a complex component as a ship hull, then fight with it, and the game will thus render out the various graphics files (including the bump map) which you need to make a new modded component for the game :D

User avatar
dafrandle
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 8:04 pm

Re: Something new...(Hidden hulls)

Postby dafrandle » Sat May 23, 2015 2:04 pm

how is just MOVING the turrets a balancing nightmare?
having a job has allowed me to understand why Archduke Astro has no time to work on his mods

User avatar
Danou
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 1:52 pm

Re: Something new...(Hidden hulls)

Postby Danou » Sat May 23, 2015 4:29 pm

dafrandle wrote:how is just MOVING the turrets a balancing nightmare?

I wouldn't say nightmare, but moving the turrets has an effect on gameplay.

I already proposed this some month ago. Read the 4-5 next posts: viewtopic.php?f=43&t=9904&p=69725#p69725
Creator of Danou's Rebalance Mod

User avatar
dafrandle
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 439
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2012 8:04 pm

Re: Something new...(Hidden hulls)

Postby dafrandle » Sun May 24, 2015 6:37 pm

ah yes the discussion i was a part of.

here is the realist in me,
when we don't have this ability the people who would game the system would just go change the data for the modules,

if we do have the system they will move all the weapons to the front.

the point is, if modding is available, people will make overpowered things, and IMHO i don't think thats a bad thing, it makes it a challenge to beat those challenges (as the name would imply)

you aren't forced to play those things, and it won't change the single player. this happened in gsb1 and no one got mad, thanks to Praetorian Industries. Praetors tried to balance his mod (and if you play honestly using the logic he set up it is still somewhat balanced) but it is still massively overpowered.


simply put, the choice is black in white: we can mod modules slots, or we cannot. There's no way to truly balance this (that isn't exceedingly complex to code).
having a job has allowed me to understand why Archduke Astro has no time to work on his mods


Return to “GSB2 Gratuitous Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests