Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.25

How much do you like the Policy-Userinterface in v0.25

Poll ended at Wed Nov 13, 2013 3:18 pm

It's a great interface
0
No votes
It's ok but it can be better
2
100%
Too much controls, aaargh
0
No votes
The worst user interface I have ever seen
0
No votes
 
Total votes : 2

Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.25

Postby Aegis on Tue Oct 29, 2013 6:14 pm

This Editor is not supported anymore.
Last edited by Aegis on Mon Feb 24, 2014 1:42 pm, edited 12 times in total.
Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.25: http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=8721
Austria Mod: http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=8510
Aegis
Ships Navigator
Ships Navigator
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:36 am

Re: Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.20

Postby Aegis on Tue Oct 29, 2013 6:15 pm

List of known Issues:
* FileOpen/Save - Dialogs don't remember the last directory -- v0.25 most dialogs remember last directory now, a few are missing this feature
* Load Mod: Country: only finds country file if country-filename = mod name
* Load Mod: Country: a few policies show a red border
* Load Mod/Load Country: doesn't load the compass file
* Save Policy only saves policies file, no icons -> but working with "Save All"
* Sometimes there's an error message on loading a mod, but everything is loaded fine
* Load Mod/Load country: Is not setting the Image pathes
* Load additional Effects: After loading all effects of the policy are set to "NO EFFECT", but if navigating back and forward, it shows correct again
* Currently no "*_cost" parameters are supported
* Mod Path & names file must be set relative to Democracy3 directory. A mod path like "C:\mymod" is not working
* If leaving Mod Path empty, the tool asks you if you want to delete the Democracy3 directory. Say "No" in that case. -> thx to ruzen for reporting
-> Will do a check that Mod Path needs to be filled, so this can't happen again.

Solved known issues:
* If there are only a few effects and no ending ',' -> the last effect is loaded into all effects that are unused -> fixed with v0.25
* € sign is not correctly loaded and when saved with the editor it doesn't show up ingame -> fixed with v0.25
* Values are not saved correctly, when using '.' (dot) instead of ',' comma, makes 4 out of 0.04 -> thx to IntruderEmerald for reporting -> fixed with v0.25
* Cost Multiplier is not loaded or not shown -> thx to Thimorin for reporting -> fixed with V0.25
* Second Value & "No Second Value" is sometimes not saved in complex formulas -> fixed with V0.21
* Country -> Policies-List: If there is an item selected in the list, and a different one in the combobox, both policies get updated when changing the value -> fixed with V0.21
* Need to add a scrollbar, so it supports lower resolutions -> Thanks to SaGeOwL for reporting -> fixed with V0.21
* Countries saved that are not using all stats, can't be loaded anymore in the editor -> fixed with V0.21
* Deleting the last policy leads to Mod Editor Crash -> fixed with v0.21
Last edited by Aegis on Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:07 pm, edited 11 times in total.
Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.25: http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=8721
Austria Mod: http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=8510
Aegis
Ships Navigator
Ships Navigator
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:36 am

Re: Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.20

Postby SaGeOwL on Thu Oct 31, 2013 11:18 am

This is great... need to pass through the learning curve but it is understandable, thanks.

Got only a problem with my screen resolution... maybe you can add a slide bar to scroll down, 'cause the last line is barely visible to me.
SaGeOwL
Space cadet
Space cadet
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2013 9:44 am

Re: Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.20

Postby Aegis on Thu Oct 31, 2013 12:00 pm

Good to tell me.
I'm working now on a Version 0.21 including a scrollbar and some fixes for the minor issues.
If tests run fine, I think I could release it this evening.
Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.25: http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=8721
Austria Mod: http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=8510
Aegis
Ships Navigator
Ships Navigator
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:36 am

Re: Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.21

Postby scylfing on Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:17 pm

I'm watching development of this. I downloaded it and tried to use it, but I don't feel I can do anything very interesting without simulation and situation modding.
Liberal+++, Capitalist+++, Environmentalist+, Youth++
scylfing
Plucky Fighter Pilot
Plucky Fighter Pilot
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 1:42 am

Re: Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.21

Postby Aegis on Thu Oct 31, 2013 8:36 pm

It will take quite some time, till simulation and situations getting done with my editor.

I currently work on redesigning code and make it all a better user experience.
(instead of stupid msg-boxes for every input field, I want to mark them green/red depending
if they are correct/incorrect)

Next then is a Mod-Tab, which should be able to load all parts from a mod that are currently
implemented by simply opening the Mod-File.
And there should be a "Save all", to save a complete mod structure.

I think it's about a week, till I can release v0.30, Situations are planned for v.40,
Simulations v.50 (you could currently use Khornels tool for Simulations)
Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.25: http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=8721
Austria Mod: http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=8510
Aegis
Ships Navigator
Ships Navigator
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:36 am

Re: Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.21

Postby IntruderEmerald on Sat Nov 02, 2013 6:16 pm

So, I close the program come back after playing and the effects are 4 instead of 0.04?

Great mod editor btw, I'll be using it alot! :D
IntruderEmerald
Ships Engineer (junior)
Ships Engineer (junior)
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 6:12 pm

Re: Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.21

Postby cliffski on Sat Nov 02, 2013 10:53 pm

This is really awesome, it's great to see something like this has been made.
If you bundle this up using inno setup and use AppName=Democracy 3 in the setup script, it will install into the same folder as the game, and then you could be sure you know the relative path to all the folders.
just an idea :D
User avatar
cliffski
Supreme Space Admiral
Supreme Space Admiral
 
Posts: 6422
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK

Re: Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.21

Postby Aegis on Sun Nov 03, 2013 7:27 am

Hi IntruderEmerald,

IntruderEmerald wrote:So, I close the program come back after playing and the effects are 4 instead of 0.04?

Do you have a file where this happens, so I can look what I'm doing wrong?
Or you know when this happens, cause that's an error for sure.

IntruderEmerald wrote:Great mod editor btw, I'll be using it alot! :D

Thx, this is water on my mill, I'm sure when you like v0.21 you will love v0.25, which will come in a few days.
(probably Tuesday or Wednesday, depending if everything runs fine)

Regards,

Aegis
Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.25: http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=8721
Austria Mod: http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=8510
Aegis
Ships Navigator
Ships Navigator
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:36 am

Re: Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.21

Postby IntruderEmerald on Sun Nov 03, 2013 11:24 am

Aegis wrote:Hi IntruderEmerald,

IntruderEmerald wrote:So, I close the program come back after playing and the effects are 4 instead of 0.04?

Do you have a file where this happens, so I can look what I'm doing wrong?
Or you know when this happens, cause that's an error for sure.

IntruderEmerald wrote:Great mod editor btw, I'll be using it alot! :D

Thx, this is water on my mill, I'm sure when you like v0.21 you will love v0.25, which will come in a few days.
(probably Tuesday or Wednesday, depending if everything runs fine)

Regards,

Aegis


So, if I add a policy then save it and leave the mod editor running while I test it and then come back the effects stay the same. However, if I close the program and open it the effects have changed. For example 0.04 becomes 4. It's happening on all the policies I add.
IntruderEmerald
Ships Engineer (junior)
Ships Engineer (junior)
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 6:12 pm

Re: Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.21

Postby Aegis on Sun Nov 03, 2013 11:35 am

So, if I add a policy then save it and leave the mod editor running while I test it and then come back the effects stay the same. However, if I close the program and open it the effects have changed. For example 0.04 becomes 4. It's happening on all the policies I add.


This happens when using '.' as separator instead of ','.
I will fix that till next release, actually better use comma.
Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.25: http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=8721
Austria Mod: http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=8510
Aegis
Ships Navigator
Ships Navigator
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:36 am

Re: Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.21

Postby IntruderEmerald on Sun Nov 03, 2013 12:29 pm

Aegis wrote:
So, if I add a policy then save it and leave the mod editor running while I test it and then come back the effects stay the same. However, if I close the program and open it the effects have changed. For example 0.04 becomes 4. It's happening on all the policies I add.


This happens when using '.' as separator instead of ','.
I will fix that till next release, actually better use comma.



Ok. I just tried it and I put 0,04 but it still thinks that is 4
IntruderEmerald
Ships Engineer (junior)
Ships Engineer (junior)
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Nov 02, 2013 6:12 pm

Re: Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.21

Postby Khornel on Sun Nov 03, 2013 1:53 pm

Aegis wrote:
So, if I add a policy then save it and leave the mod editor running while I test it and then come back the effects stay the same. However, if I close the program and open it the effects have changed. For example 0.04 becomes 4. It's happening on all the policies I add.


This happens when using '.' as separator instead of ','.
I will fix that till next release, actually better use comma.

Use System.Globalization.CultureInfo.InvariantCulture to force . Decimal notation on any computer.
Khornel
Ships Engineer (senior)
Ships Engineer (senior)
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:08 am

Re: Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.21

Postby Aegis on Sun Nov 03, 2013 2:41 pm

Use System.Globalization.CultureInfo.InvariantCulture to force . Decimal notation on any computer.


Thx for the tip, i don't know the Framework as good as you, it seems.
But if I force . notation, doesn't that mean, that , is not allowed anymore?
Want to have both notation, so everyone can use . or , how they are used to in there notation.
Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.25: http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=8721
Austria Mod: http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=8510
Aegis
Ships Navigator
Ships Navigator
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:36 am

Re: Aegis Democracy 3 Mod Editor v0.21

Postby Khornel on Sun Nov 03, 2013 3:02 pm

Aegis wrote:
Use System.Globalization.CultureInfo.InvariantCulture to force . Decimal notation on any computer.


Thx for the tip, i don't know the Framework as good as you, it seems.
But if I force . notation, doesn't that mean, that , is not allowed anymore?
Want to have both notation, so everyone can use . or , how they are used to in there notation.

You could do that, just make sure you use invariantculture when converting numbers to strings so democracy can read it. E.g. I use Convert.ToDouble (string, invariantculture) and double.ToString (invariantculture).
I don't know if .Net supports both in anyway, you'll have to use regex or something yourself because of cases like 100.000,00
Khornel
Ships Engineer (senior)
Ships Engineer (senior)
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:08 am

Next

Return to modding

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest