Problem with modding

Discussion relating to modding gratuitous tank battles
User avatar
Tangle
Type II Robot
Type II Robot
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 9:58 pm
Location: In a very, very old Yoo' escape pod.

Problem with modding

Postby Tangle » Sun Apr 15, 2012 11:40 am

Not sure if this goes in Modding or Feedback. Well here's what happened: I was copying and pasting Heavy Mech 3 because airplanes have more than one weapon, why not mechs, and I did it sucessfully. I started the game and figured out that my copy murdered the ambulance file. Now, the game crashes every time. I had a cool dream about GTB, but I guess that goes somewhere else. So, here is my request: Can someone give me the excel code for the ambulance? Also, can someone show me how to put it in without ruining something else?
Locating habitable planets and then blowing them up.

I'm not very good at ship coloring.
User avatar
darkstar076
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 2200
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:14 am
Location: Lurking somewhere in the Forum

Re: Problem with modding

Postby darkstar076 » Sun Apr 15, 2012 11:52 am

You could always reinstall the game . .
(just backup your modded data)
Wisdom is something you generally obtain around three seconds after you needed it the most
-=Modding Guru & Egon Spengler of the Friendly Community Mod Squad=-
User avatar
Tangle
Type II Robot
Type II Robot
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 9:58 pm
Location: In a very, very old Yoo' escape pod.

Re: Problem with modding

Postby Tangle » Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:07 pm

Please, just give me the ambulance data. You just need to copy the data in the Hulls.csv file. Using that is much easier than reinstalling.
Locating habitable planets and then blowing them up.

I'm not very good at ship coloring.
User avatar
darkstar076
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 2200
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:14 am
Location: Lurking somewhere in the Forum

Re: Problem with modding

Postby darkstar076 » Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:15 pm

I only have a very early beta version from when i was testing and i have yet to purchase my copy
(that is why i suggested reinstall)

One thing i have to ask - So you did you manage to place 2 weapons on a mech and they both worked ?
Interesting (i really have to find my credit card)
Wisdom is something you generally obtain around three seconds after you needed it the most
-=Modding Guru & Egon Spengler of the Friendly Community Mod Squad=-
User avatar
Tangle
Type II Robot
Type II Robot
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2012 9:58 pm
Location: In a very, very old Yoo' escape pod.

Re: Problem with modding

Postby Tangle » Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:17 pm

And I would if I could reinstall, but I am thinking, "Really, what about all the stuff I created and used?" And "I already deleted the reinstall email, I do not remember where it was."
Locating habitable planets and then blowing them up.

I'm not very good at ship coloring.
User avatar
darkstar076
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 2200
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 2:14 am
Location: Lurking somewhere in the Forum

Re: Problem with modding

Postby darkstar076 » Sun Apr 15, 2012 12:21 pm

Cliff should be able to help you with another email - he is great like that.
Alternatly send an email to BMT Micro (the people you purchased the game from)

As for losing your stuff, all you have to do is:
- move your existing copy to a safe location
- Install the game again
- Get the csv data you need
- move the modded copy back over the top of the install location
- copy back in the csv stuff.

Yeah, its a bit of fiddling but it comes down to which will be quicker.
(hopefully someone is lurking that can post you the data)
Wisdom is something you generally obtain around three seconds after you needed it the most
-=Modding Guru & Egon Spengler of the Friendly Community Mod Squad=-
User avatar
Archduke Astro
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 1654
Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:09 pm
Location: Building The Future.

Re: Problem with modding

Postby Archduke Astro » Mon Apr 23, 2012 11:57 pm

darkstar076 wrote:As for losing your stuff, all you have to do is:
- move your existing copy to a safe location
- Install the game again
- Get the csv data you need
- move the modded copy back over the top of the install location
- copy back in the csv stuff.

I heartily second that sage advice.

For my own part, once I began modding GSB I simply duplicated all of the game's text files of interest to me into a second directory. That made for a very quick and painless restoration during the times I occasionally goofed-up something I shouldn't have while modding. Hell, I even have a third set on a USB keychain drive just in case. ;)
.
•• Positech Global Moderator & Forum Sheriff ••
GSB "Combined-Arms Combat" Advocate & Analyst
Enemy of Forum Lulz | Defender of Faction Diversity

∞∆……CURATOR OF CREATIVE CONCEPTS for GSB's Friendly Community Mod Squad……∆∞

Return to “GTB modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest