Lets talk about the games performance (FPS)

For feedback during the beta-pre-order period for the tower-defense/RTS/management/sim hybrid ww1/2/future game.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7969
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Lets talk about the games performance (FPS)

Postby cliffski » Mon Apr 23, 2012 9:35 am

How well does the game run for you? And what screen res and hardware do you have?
I am ultra-paranoid about this stuff, and always want my games running smoothly. it's capped at 60FPS anyway, but unless you have fairly poor hardware vs a big resolutiion, it should bumble along at 50-60FPS most of the time.
Let me know how it runs for you, and if you have noticed slowdowns associated with any specific features or options.
Treffies
Senior Line Worker
Senior Line Worker
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 12:25 am

Re: Lets talk about the games performance (FPS)

Postby Treffies » Tue Apr 24, 2012 2:50 am

I run a fairly obsolete laptop from 2003, I'm fairly certain they don't even make my brand of video card anymore. The game runs beautifully with max settings and I love the hell out of it. However, for some reason mechs slow the game down by a lot, bring it below the 10 fps range. And its only certain mechs too. Sometimes I can put down light mechs without issue, but a medium will bring the fps to a crawl. Sometimes lights cause slowdowns. Sometimes certain chassis. Sometimes all of them. I've lowered the settings as far as they can go, and still mechs bring the framerate crashing down. Beyond that the game runs at around 50 fps when there's no mechs on the field, no matter how many bullets and explosions there are.

Processor: Intel Core 2 1.66ghz
Memory: 2038mb ram
Video: Intel GMA 950 224mb memory

So yea, a well optimized game except for random mechs for some reason.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7969
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Lets talk about the games performance (FPS)

Postby cliffski » Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:18 am

I suspect it is the mechs walking animations that do that. They are pretty intensive on video memory.
User avatar
Watsong
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 11:53 am

Re: Lets talk about the games performance (FPS)

Postby Watsong » Tue Apr 24, 2012 2:43 pm

Yes, there's some big problems:

The game loads up the main menu in a couple of seconds.
There aren't any unskippable logos, EULA or brand name videos on startup.
The game runs at max detail with a great frame rate on old hardware.
The game lacks proprietary archives that contain all of the game data files.
The game is moddable without a mod kit.
The patches aren't sufficiently large in size and are released too frequently.
The game hasn't been sufficiently adjusted for a console audience.

Really, how can you expect to compete with multinational corporations' AAA titles when you haven't matched their basic game features?

But at least you got something right:

When the game crashes, very little debug information is given as to why.
Binz
Line Supervisor
Line Supervisor
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 7:42 pm

Re: Lets talk about the games performance (FPS)

Postby Binz » Tue Apr 24, 2012 8:53 pm

My performance has been at 100%, until last patch.

I think the changes you made to the smoke have affected my game, about 3/4 way through the battle there is a LOT of impenetrable smoke, and my comp starts to slow down.

I play at 1920 res, 3.6Ghz processor, 8GB ram, 560Ti Graphics Card.

It still easily playable, I just wanted to mention the smoke appears to be slowing stuff down on my game.
Treffies
Senior Line Worker
Senior Line Worker
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 12:25 am

Re: Lets talk about the games performance (FPS)

Postby Treffies » Wed Apr 25, 2012 12:56 am

I did a test last night with the mechs and the slowdown. Whatever chassis' are in my initial deployment before the battle starts will not slow down my game for that fight. I guess I'm just going to have mech heavy starts I suppose.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7969
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Lets talk about the games performance (FPS)

Postby cliffski » Wed Apr 25, 2012 9:30 am

That's weird. Is it related to the actual placing of them? (in other words once they are down and moving is it ok?).
And does it matter if they are onscreen or not? I imagine it would not, because the textures are still loaded then.
User avatar
WayOfEnoch
Senior Line Supervisor
Senior Line Supervisor
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:28 am
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Lets talk about the games performance (FPS)

Postby WayOfEnoch » Wed Apr 25, 2012 12:31 pm

Binz wrote:My performance has been at 100%, until last patch.

I think the changes you made to the smoke have affected my game, about 3/4 way through the battle there is a LOT of impenetrable smoke, and my comp starts to slow down.

I play at 1920 res, 3.6Ghz processor, 8GB ram, 560Ti Graphics Card.

It still easily playable, I just wanted to mention the smoke appears to be slowing stuff down on my game.


My report is almost verbatim to this post.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7969
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Lets talk about the games performance (FPS)

Postby cliffski » Wed Apr 25, 2012 12:32 pm

could someone post a screenshot of the battle when performance is slow?
User avatar
WayOfEnoch
Senior Line Supervisor
Senior Line Supervisor
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:28 am
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Lets talk about the games performance (FPS)

Postby WayOfEnoch » Wed Apr 25, 2012 1:43 pm

Image
User avatar
WayOfEnoch
Senior Line Supervisor
Senior Line Supervisor
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:28 am
Location: Michigan, USA

Re: Lets talk about the games performance (FPS)

Postby WayOfEnoch » Wed Apr 25, 2012 5:16 pm

Image
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7969
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Lets talk about the games performance (FPS)

Postby cliffski » Thu Apr 26, 2012 7:52 am

Thanks, I'll see if I can optimise that a bit. I have new code that can monitor the framerate in real time and adjust stuff (like infantry shadows), so I can use that to fade that smoke out quicker if it starts to slow things down.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7969
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Lets talk about the games performance (FPS)

Postby cliffski » Fri Apr 27, 2012 3:01 pm

Binz wrote:My performance has been at 100%, until last patch.

I think the changes you made to the smoke have affected my game, about 3/4 way through the battle there is a LOT of impenetrable smoke, and my comp starts to slow down.

I play at 1920 res, 3.6Ghz processor, 8GB ram, 560Ti Graphics Card.

It still easily playable, I just wanted to mention the smoke appears to be slowing stuff down on my game.


I think I've found the cause of this, it's a patch issue, rather than a bug as such, and should be fixed in 1.007
User avatar
pboucher
Line Supervisor
Line Supervisor
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 4:12 pm

Re: Lets talk about the games performance (FPS)

Postby pboucher » Wed May 16, 2012 5:09 pm

I only just got the game, so cannot vouch for previous patch problems, but the game seems to run extremely well for me. I tried it with fraps running (which I presume doesn't slow the game if it is just showing the FPS, ratehr than recording?).
Anyway, it seems to run between 55-60 FPS for me, regardless of what is going on with the map. My PC is a few years old now, so that was a pleasant surprise, especially after a few recent AAA games which have run like an asthmatic dog... Even company of heroes can slow down badly for me with big battles, and that's very old now...

Return to “Beta feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests