Checking for patches (lying to us)

For feedback during the beta-pre-order period for the tower-defense/RTS/management/sim hybrid ww1/2/future game.
User avatar
Watsong
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 11:53 am

Checking for patches (lying to us)

Postby Watsong » Sun Mar 25, 2012 8:58 pm

Game bug reproduction sequence:

1. Load the game.
2. Hmm... "Checking for patches", this is taking a long time.
3. Found anything yet?
4. MOORRRRSSSEEEE CCOOODDDEEEE NOISES!!!!!!
5. Still checking.......
6. Still checking.......
7. Still checking.......
8. Ah! A patch has been 'found'. LIES!!!!! It was downloading it the entire time!

Suggestion: Add feedback to indicate that a patch has been found and that it's downloading. Use the same progress bar as on GSB.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7967
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Checking for patches (lying to us)

Postby cliffski » Sun Mar 25, 2012 10:26 pm

yes I will do this for the next patch. For tedious reasons, it's not as simple as it sounds.
User avatar
Teal_Blue
Type I Robot
Type I Robot
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 3:33 pm

Re: Checking for patches (lying to us)

Postby Teal_Blue » Mon Mar 26, 2012 11:39 am

:) Actually, I rather enjoy the morse code... :)

-Teal
User avatar
Watsong
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 11:53 am

Re: Checking for patches (lying to us)

Postby Watsong » Mon Mar 26, 2012 5:35 pm

\data\sounds\morse.ogg

Could make a good 'text message received' sound for your phone...
Bladetrain3r
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 7:58 pm

Re: Checking for patches (lying to us)

Postby Bladetrain3r » Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:25 pm

Least it actually downloaded this time for me... just a tad annoying I had to open up netlimiter to make sure it was doing so.

Long as it dls though, I'll live. We all must make do with a little less to win this war :P
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7967
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Checking for patches (lying to us)

Postby cliffski » Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:56 pm

Fear not, this is fixed in the next version, though obviously you won't then realise it until the version after that :D
rogerano
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2012 5:08 am

Re: Checking for patches (lying to us)

Postby rogerano » Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:18 pm

Please excuse my ignorance. How does the patching system work?
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7967
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Checking for patches (lying to us)

Postby cliffski » Thu Mar 29, 2012 11:37 pm

The game checks daily for a patch, if you have entered your serial code, and it downloads and runs them automatically if needed.

Return to “Beta feedback”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest