Just Purchased

Discussion of the new 'Life-Sim' game.
User avatar
Dave82481
Type I Robot
Type I Robot
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 8:52 pm
Location: USA

Just Purchased

Postby Dave82481 » Thu Jul 13, 2006 8:54 pm

I just purchased Kudos I had no problems with then Demo. but I keep getting errors and it wont let me download the updates with the full version. maybe its because I have windows 2000. its a really cool looking game.
Drgamer
Line Manager
Line Manager
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:11 pm

Postby Drgamer » Thu Jul 13, 2006 8:55 pm

Did you click refresh?

If you did then:
Do you have a firewall?
User avatar
Dave82481
Type I Robot
Type I Robot
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 8:52 pm
Location: USA

Postby Dave82481 » Thu Jul 13, 2006 8:58 pm

no but I have tried it several times, I got the game downloaded but when I try to start the game I get as far as the first page.
Drgamer
Line Manager
Line Manager
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 7:11 pm

Postby Drgamer » Thu Jul 13, 2006 9:14 pm

Can you get to the screen that says 'Game Updates'?

Or what first page are you talking about?
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7970
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby cliffski » Thu Jul 13, 2006 9:17 pm

eeek, what are the exact steps to get this crash? and is it a windows error, or a nice positech error that offers to email me. If it is, I didnt get the email. is there any error message?

If the game crashes, there should be files in the games 'debugdata' subdirectory. emauil them all to me at cliff AT positech.co.uk and I'll look at it right away.
Cheers
User avatar
Dave82481
Type I Robot
Type I Robot
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 8:52 pm
Location: USA

Postby Dave82481 » Thu Jul 13, 2006 9:20 pm

it was a windows error it said kudos has generated an error and windows needs to close
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7970
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby cliffski » Thu Jul 13, 2006 9:25 pm

but the demo works fine? theres no difference at all in the engine. So you get an error the moment the game starts?
Could you reboot and try it again?
User avatar
Dave82481
Type I Robot
Type I Robot
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 8:52 pm
Location: USA

Postby Dave82481 » Thu Jul 13, 2006 9:30 pm

I have tried restarting I am defragmenting now to see if that works. it gets to the character select page and after I choose one then I get the error.
User avatar
Dave82481
Type I Robot
Type I Robot
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 8:52 pm
Location: USA

Postby Dave82481 » Fri Jul 14, 2006 1:12 am

defragmenting didnt work, this is getting annoying. the error also says something like: IERROR: Failed writing local web copy

-Edit- That didnt work either, just more errors. I feel like I am getting ripped off I hope this isnt the case.
MacMan45
Senior Line Worker
Senior Line Worker
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 9:13 am

Postby MacMan45 » Fri Jul 14, 2006 4:14 am

Dave82481 wrote:I feel like I am getting ripped off I hope this isnt the case.


Its the first days of release, some bugs are inevitable, but i'm sure cliffski will work hard on fixing these issues, its his livelyhood after all!
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7970
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby cliffski » Fri Jul 14, 2006 6:52 am

can you email the files in the 'debugdata' directory to cliff AT positech.co.uk. It sounds like the game cant write local files. I presume that you are the administrator of your machine, or you dont have restricted access to it? this could be the problem, because it sounds like you just don't have persmission to create files.
This is tested as a limited user under windows XP, but I havent been able to test a limited user under Windows 2000, so that could be it.
User avatar
Dave82481
Type I Robot
Type I Robot
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 8:52 pm
Location: USA

Postby Dave82481 » Fri Jul 14, 2006 11:30 am

Thanks for your help, I am the only one that uses this computer, I have emailed you. and I also want to apoligize if I sounded rude in my earlier post.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7970
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby cliffski » Fri Jul 14, 2006 6:57 pm

This should be fixed (plus many other issues) in this patch:

http://www.positech.co.uk/kudos/patches ... 0to101.exe

If you buy after 9PM GMT on Friday, you have version 1.01 which is fixed :D
Last edited by cliffski on Sat Jul 15, 2006 12:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Carolynhorn
Senior Line Worker
Senior Line Worker
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 12:14 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Postby Carolynhorn » Sat Jul 15, 2006 12:22 pm

I must say, the whole thing went like a dream for me this morning -- demo worked fine, online buying nice and smooth, full download installed in seconds and yay, extras downloaded was a nice touch :)

Cheers -- and thanks!

Carolyn
User avatar
Dave82481
Type I Robot
Type I Robot
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2006 8:52 pm
Location: USA

Postby Dave82481 » Sat Jul 15, 2006 9:12 pm

this is cool, I like that there have been updates already. I defintely plan on purchasing some of the other games.

Return to “Kudos (General)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests