Problems with campaign mode.

Nuli
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:41 pm

Problems with campaign mode.

Postby Nuli » Sat Dec 17, 2011 5:48 am

On a standard Debian wheezy install I get this error when attempting to start a new campaign.

Image

In addition to this the key I got from the Humble Bundle doesn't appear to actually work. A previous key from a steam purchase of GSB does seem to work though.
Nexus
Senior Line Worker
Senior Line Worker
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 5:27 pm

Re: Problems with campaign mode.

Postby Nexus » Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:25 am

Nuli wrote:On a standard Debian wheezy install I get this error when attempting to start a new campaign.

Image


Same here but after ignore this popup campaign works fine (at least for some time)

Deleting this file helps permanently but i cannot recommend this.. :)
User avatar
urkle
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Problems with campaign mode.

Postby urkle » Sat Dec 17, 2011 2:39 pm

The issue here is that the unknown_planet.fx from the DLC campaign is not a GLSL Shader (what Linux and Mac GSB expect). Thus you are getting OpenGL errors about it. The shader needs to be "ported" over to GLSL. . You can do this if you have the Nvidia CG library installed. Look at the data/shaders folder for other "ported" shaders and the process taken to get them there. orig is the original file you have, then edit is the rafactoring, then it gets run through the nvidia cgc.

So the original file to "edited"

Code: Select all

struct pixel_in {
    float3 texcoord: TEXCOORD0;
};
struct pixel_out {
    float4 color: COLOR;
};

pixel_out
main(pixel_in IN, uniform sampler2D texture : TEXUNIT0)
{
    pixel_out OUT;

    float4 color = tex2D( texture, IN.texcoord.xy);
    float bright = (color.r + color.g + color.b)/3;
    color.r = bright;
    color.g = bright;
    color.b = bright;
    color.a *= 0.5;
    OUT.color =color;
    return OUT;
}


technique PostProcess
{
    pass p1
    {
        VertexShader = null;
        PixelShader = compile ps_2_0 UnknownPlanet();
    }

}


becomes (with some minor tweaking)

Code: Select all

// glslf output by Cg compiler
// cgc version 3.0.0016, build date Feb 13 2011
// command line args: -profile glslf -profileopts version=120
// source file: test_edit.fx
//vendor NVIDIA Corporation
//version 3.0.0.16
//profile glslf
//program main
//semantic main.texture : TEXUNIT0
//var sampler2D texture : TEXUNIT0 : _texture1 0 : 1 : 1
//var float3 IN.texcoord : $vin.TEXCOORD0 : TEX0 : 0 : 1
//var float4 main.color : $vout.COLOR : COL : -1 : 1

#version 120

struct pixel_in {
    vec3 _texcoord;
};

struct pixel_out {
    vec4 _color1;
};

uniform sampler2D _texture1;

 // main procedure, the original name was main
void main()
{

    vec4 _color;
    float _bright;

    _color = texture2D(_texture1, gl_TexCoord[0].xy);
    _bright = (_color.x + _color.y + _color.z)/3.00000000E+00;
    _color.x = _bright;
    _color.y = _bright;
    _color.z = _bright;
  //  _color.w = _color.w*5.00000000E-01;
    gl_FragColor = _color;
    return;
} // main end
Developing away on one of
Mac Pro Dual 2Ghz, 14GB RAM, Snow Leopard, nVidia 8800 512MB.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
Nexus
Senior Line Worker
Senior Line Worker
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 5:27 pm

Re: Problems with campaign mode.

Postby Nexus » Sat Dec 17, 2011 3:57 pm

urkle wrote:The issue here is that the unknown_planet.fx from the DLC campaign is not a GLSL Shader (what Linux and Mac GSB expect). Thus you are getting OpenGL errors about it. The shader needs to be "ported" over to GLSL. . You can do this if you have the Nvidia CG library installed. Look at the data/shaders folder for other "ported" shaders and the process taken to get them there. orig is the original file you have, then edit is the rafactoring, then it gets run through the nvidia cgc.


with new unknown_planet.fx file looks like campaing works without any major problems (but still main title screen is white)

thanks :)
User avatar
urkle
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Problems with campaign mode.

Postby urkle » Sat Dec 17, 2011 5:26 pm

Nexus wrote:with new unknown_planet.fx file looks like campaing works without any major problems (but still main title screen is white)

thanks :)


Can you get a screenshot of that for me?
Developing away on one of
Mac Pro Dual 2Ghz, 14GB RAM, Snow Leopard, nVidia 8800 512MB.
Linux, 8-core AMD, 8GB RAM, Fedora 18, nVidia 450 1GB
Nuli
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: Problems with campaign mode.

Postby Nuli » Sat Dec 17, 2011 9:42 pm

Here's a screen shot of the game with no main menu background: http://imgur.com/R7IJY

This only happens after you install the Galactic Conquest DLC. Prior to that it displayed the normal main menu background.
Nuli
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: Problems with campaign mode.

Postby Nuli » Sat Dec 17, 2011 9:52 pm

One other thing I just noticed is that it does not seem possible to delete campaign games from within the game. Clicking on delete then selecting yes to unleash the fusion cannons doesn't appear to delete any files from within .positech though the permissions indicate I should be able to delete anything under that directory. Deleting the files manually successfully removes the entry from the campaign menu.
Nexus
Senior Line Worker
Senior Line Worker
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 5:27 pm

Re: Problems with campaign mode.

Postby Nexus » Sat Dec 17, 2011 11:12 pm

Nuli wrote:One other thing I just noticed is that it does not seem possible to delete campaign games from within the game. Clicking on delete then selecting yes to unleash the fusion cannons doesn't appear to delete any files from within .positech though the permissions indicate I should be able to delete anything under that directory. Deleting the files manually successfully removes the entry from the campaign menu.


Deleting campaign works without problems here (GSB after restart didn't see deleted campaign)

(remaining problem: white screen and "unset http_proxy" for online work)
Nuli
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: Problems with campaign mode.

Postby Nuli » Sun Dec 18, 2011 12:18 am

Nexus wrote:Deleting campaign works without problems here (GSB after restart didn't see deleted campaign)
(remaining problem: white screen and "unset http_proxy" for online work)


Interesting. I can't seem to delete campaign games or saved designs. I don't have any issues with proxying though I had to use an older key I had from a steam version. The key that came with the bundle game didn't work.
offsides
Line Supervisor
Line Supervisor
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:02 pm

Re: Problems with campaign mode.

Postby offsides » Sun Dec 18, 2011 2:55 am

Nuli wrote:This only happens after you install the Galactic Conquest DLC. Prior to that it displayed the normal main menu background.


FYI, this white screen issue appears to happen with _any_ DLC installed, at least that's what it did for me the other day. I can't really test further since I don't have that laptop with me, but I'll confirm it when I get home mid-week. And it's not a problem with reading the titlescreen image, as an strace showed it being read the same way with and without DLC...
offsides
Line Supervisor
Line Supervisor
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:02 pm

Re: Problems with campaign mode.

Postby offsides » Sun Dec 18, 2011 3:00 am

urkle wrote:The issue here is that the unknown_planet.fx from the DLC campaign is not a GLSL Shader (what Linux and Mac GSB expect). Thus you are getting OpenGL errors about it. The shader needs to be "ported" over to GLSL. . You can do this if you have the Nvidia CG library installed. Look at the data/shaders folder for other "ported" shaders and the process taken to get them there. orig is the original file you have, then edit is the rafactoring, then it gets run through the nvidia cgc.


Is there any chance you can post a script to convert to PC shaders to Linux/Mac? Either that, or can you and cliffski make the Mac shaders (since there's Mac DLC) available for download for us Linux users who've bought the PC DLC?

Thanks!
JoNil
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:28 pm

Re: Problems with campaign mode.

Postby JoNil » Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:31 pm

You can fix the white screen with the dlcs by converting all the .dds files to .png and all the .bmp files to .jpg in the dlc folders. :)
Nexus
Senior Line Worker
Senior Line Worker
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 5:27 pm

Re: Problems with campaign mode.

Postby Nexus » Mon Dec 19, 2011 5:17 pm

JoNil wrote:You can fix the white screen with the dlcs by converting all the .dds files to .png and all the .bmp files to .jpg in the dlc folders. :)


Confirmed :))))

Thanks

so the only remaining problem for me is faulty proxy code
offsides
Line Supervisor
Line Supervisor
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:02 pm

Re: Problems with campaign mode.

Postby offsides » Tue Dec 20, 2011 4:05 am

JoNil wrote:You can fix the white screen with the dlcs by converting all the .dds files to .png and all the .bmp files to .jpg in the dlc folders. :)


Had already done the .dds conversion, but wasn't aware of the .bmp one. Looks good to me too.
offsides
Line Supervisor
Line Supervisor
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 3:02 pm

Re: Problems with campaign mode.

Postby offsides » Wed Dec 21, 2011 4:42 am

urkle wrote:The issue here is that the unknown_planet.fx from the DLC campaign is not a GLSL Shader (what Linux and Mac GSB expect). Thus you are getting OpenGL errors about it. The shader needs to be "ported" over to GLSL. . You can do this if you have the Nvidia CG library installed. Look at the data/shaders folder for other "ported" shaders and the process taken to get them there. orig is the original file you have, then edit is the rafactoring, then it gets run through the nvidia cgc.


I converted all of the shaders in the DLC, but I'm still getting an error, specifically this:

Code: Select all

campaign/data/shaders/unknown_planet.fx
Shader Link Error: 0(1) : error C000: syntax error, unexpected '.', expecting "::" at token "."


Any ideas?

Return to “Linux Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest