[Mac/Linux] Can't enter online code - V key not working

walski
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:29 pm

[Mac/Linux] Can't enter online code - V key not working

Postby walski » Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:31 pm

Hey,

I've got the letter V in my online code and this key is just not working inside the input field of the game. I'm running the OS X version of it. Any ideas?

Thanks!

Thorben
comradelaika
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 8:29 pm

Re: [Mac/Linux] Can't enter online code - V key not working

Postby comradelaika » Tue Dec 13, 2011 8:33 pm

Got the exact same problem. Just bought this with the Humble Bundle, running an early 2011 MBP with Lion and this guy has this problem too, so it's not my computer. What kind of a weird bug is this? The V key?
schatt
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:34 am

Re: [Mac/Linux] Can't enter online code - V key not working

Postby schatt » Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:35 am

This is also happening to me. VERY annoying!
Anyone have a workaround?
Hamilton
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:14 pm

Re: [Mac/Linux] Can't enter online code - V key not working

Postby Hamilton » Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:15 pm

Same issue, running the 64-bit Linux version.
Raptor85
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:29 pm

Re: [Mac/Linux] Can't enter online code - V key not working

Postby Raptor85 » Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:30 pm

ditto to this problem, i sent a tweet over to @humble asking about the issue, I hope it's resolved quickly as I'd really like to try this game out :/
walski
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 7:29 pm

Re: [Mac/Linux] Can't enter online code - V key not working

Postby walski » Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:05 pm

I found a workaround for that:

  • Go to the humble bundle page
  • Copy the online key to the clipboard (select code then command + c)
  • Start the game
  • Click online
  • Click in the field to enter the code
  • Hit ctrl + v (instead of command + v as you normally would)

This will paste the code and you are good to go. Of course that doesn't solve any problems regarding the v key but is that key is not needed anywhere else in the game (which I don't know) that should get you going.

Thorben
comradelaika
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 8:29 pm

Re:[Mac/Linux] Can't enter online code - V key not working

Postby comradelaika » Wed Dec 14, 2011 11:08 pm

I can confirm that this works. Thanks, mate!
Hamilton
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:14 pm

Re: [Mac/Linux] Can't enter online code - V key not working

Postby Hamilton » Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:32 am

ctrl-v does not work in Linux (Ubuntu 10.10)
Raptor85
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:29 pm

Re: [Mac/Linux] Can't enter online code - V key not working

Postby Raptor85 » Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:30 am

the linux version doesn't seem to support ctrl+v to paste, so this workaround doesnt work.

is there anyway you can check where the key is being stored after entered though? if it's just being put in a config file or something at least then I could just toss it in there and be done, but i don't see anywhere in the config files already set up for a key (perhaps it's created after the key is inputted?) If someone who's already been able to enter the key could check that would be great. (game stores all it's info in ~/.positech/GSB/)
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7961
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: [Mac/Linux] Can't enter online code - V key not working

Postby cliffski » Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:56 am

Hi everyone, sorry for this bug, it's to do with a new key format (we never had a V in there before so it didn't trigger). There will be as patch, but for anyone who cannot paste and doesnt want to wait for the patch you can create a file called
gsbcd
(no extension)
just as a text file in notepad, enter the key, and save the file to
\my documents\my games\gratuitous space battles\web
Or the equivilant location on your system
That should do it.
Sorry!
sag47
Senior Line Worker
Senior Line Worker
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 14, 2011 3:42 pm

Re: [Mac/Linux] Can't enter online code - V key not working

Postby sag47 » Thu Dec 15, 2011 2:20 pm

cliffski wrote:Hi everyone, sorry for this bug, it's to do with a new key format (we never had a V in there before so it didn't trigger). There will be as patch, but for anyone who cannot paste and doesnt want to wait for the patch you can create a file called
gsbcd
(no extension)
just as a text file in notepad, enter the key, and save the file to
\my documents\my games\gratuitous space battles\web
Or the equivalent location on your system
That should do it.
Sorry!


For Linux users, do the following:

Code: Select all

echo "REPLACE_WITH_CDKEY" > ~/.positech/GSB/web/gsbcd

Or if you wanted the process to be more manual.

Code: Select all

touch ~/.positech/GSB/web/gsbcd
vim ~/.positech/GSB/web/gsbcd

And enter your CD Key in that text file.
kuro.rai
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2011 7:02 pm

Re: [Mac/Linux] Can't enter online code - V key not working

Postby kuro.rai » Thu Dec 15, 2011 10:37 pm

cliffski wrote:Hi everyone, sorry for this bug, it's to do with a new key format (we never had a V in there before so it didn't trigger). There will be as patch, but for anyone who cannot paste and doesnt want to wait for the patch you can create a file called
gsbcd
(no extension)
just as a text file in notepad, enter the key, and save the file to
\my documents\my games\gratuitous space battles\web
Or the equivilant location on your system
That should do it.
Sorry!


Mac users can find the file under: ~/Library/Preferences/GratuitousSpaceBattles/web .

Though TextEdit can open the file if you tell it to, I suggest using sag47's terminal commands (touch and vim) to ~/Library/Preferences/GratuitousSpaceBattles/web/gsbcd . In my experience, TextEdit sometimes changes files with no extentions in ways that they no longer work, but the terminal commands should work without problem.
Nuli
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: [Mac/Linux] Can't enter online code - V key not working

Postby Nuli » Fri Dec 16, 2011 12:52 am

cliffski wrote:you can create a file called
gsbcd
(no extension)
just as a text file in notepad, enter the key, and save the file to
\my documents\my games\gratuitous space battles\web
Or the equivilant location on your system


On a 32bit linux system that will allow the key to be verified in the online screen however it does not seem sufficient to enable campaign mode.

When clicking the campaign button I get a message that says

Login Failed!
Either your PC is not online, your firewall is blocking the game, or your serial number is not valid. Please check and try again.


According to the online screen my registration code and username are both valid.
Nexus
Senior Line Worker
Senior Line Worker
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 5:27 pm

Re: [Mac/Linux] Can't enter online code - V key not working

Postby Nexus » Fri Dec 16, 2011 1:00 am

Login Failed!
Either your PC is not online, your firewall is blocking the game, or your serial number is not valid. Please check and try again.


According to the online screen my registration code and username are both valid.


Check your proxy

Code: Select all

unset http_proxy

help me with identical error message

How did you install Campaign DLC?
Nuli
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 6:41 pm

Re: [Mac/Linux] Can't enter online code - V key not working

Postby Nuli » Fri Dec 16, 2011 2:35 am

Nexus wrote:How did you install Campaign DLC?


I used the instructions at viewtopic.php?f=29&t=6842

Then used this script to convert .dds files to .png files.

Code: Select all

for x in `find . -name "*.dds"`; do
    tmp=`basename $x`
    file=${tmp%.*}
    dir=`dirname $x`
    echo "convert $dir/$file.dds $dir/$file.png"
    convert $dir/$file.dds $dir/$file.png
done


Check your proxy


I don't have any proxy running unless you mean something within GSB itself.

Return to “Linux Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest