Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod - Please Help!

Welcome to the shipyards. Here you can discuss how to re-calibrate the positronic neutron flow to double power to the aft shields. Or you can discuss how to add new ships, new maps, new scenarios, new modules, etc. have fun!
ThePorkchopExpress
Type II Robot
Type II Robot
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 12:40 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby ThePorkchopExpress » Sat Aug 11, 2012 5:40 pm

Yea, i did get a bit silly with the turrets. I tried to include variety with the less powerful turrets by giving them a faster rate of fire or a faster tracking speed.

As far as the AAA goes, I'm trying to simulate the impenetrable wall of flak we've seen battlestars put up. I tried to keep the tracking speeds around that as the defense laser which was 3.7. Goofed a bit with the 20mm dual gatlings set at 5.

I intended to delete the emp missiles from the Colonial arsenal, while I'm sure they were technologically do-able I dont recall seeing them in the show.

I did put in an emp generator capable of destroying missiles based off of what Apollo was able to do in the original 2 part miniseries with the pulse generators and the ftl engines of Colonial One.

I havnt any experience in creating pre fab ships or scenarios.. but i'll give it a shot. I'm gunna try and bang out the Cylon ship mod 1st and then make them for both. Possibly even a mixed fleet scenario as scene towards the end of the show.
User avatar
magnus392
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:22 am

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby magnus392 » Sat Aug 11, 2012 5:44 pm

ThePorkchopExpress wrote:Yea, i did get a bit silly with the turrets. I tried to include variety with the less powerful turrets by giving them a faster rate of fire or a faster tracking speed.

As far as the AAA goes, I'm trying to simulate the impenetrable wall of flak we've seen battlestars put up. I tried to keep the tracking speeds around that as the defense laser which was 3.7. Goofed a bit with the 20mm dual gatlings set at 5.

I intended to delete the emp missiles from the Colonial arsenal, while I'm sure they were technologically do-able I dont recall seeing them in the show.

I did put in an emp generator capable of destroying missiles based off of what Apollo was able to do in the original 2 part miniseries with the pulse generators and the ftl engines of Colonial One.

I havnt any experience in creating pre fab ships or scenarios.. but i'll give it a shot. I'm gunna try and bang out the Cylon ship mod 1st and then make them for both. Possibly even a mixed fleet scenario as scene towards the end of the show.



Prefab ships are easy, all you do is pull the ship file frome your saved hulls directory :)
Babylon 5 Mod
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=6946
B5 Shadows Mod - Beta-
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=7103
ThePorkchopExpress
Type II Robot
Type II Robot
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 12:40 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby ThePorkchopExpress » Sat Aug 11, 2012 6:11 pm

DERP!!!
Admiral Harken
Line Supervisor
Line Supervisor
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 8:07 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby Admiral Harken » Sat Aug 11, 2012 7:46 pm

magnus392 wrote:I think part of his issue is the the BSG mod according to your file structure being part of the Federation it appears. I have actually set them up as their own race and added separate install files etc for them. That may be why I am missing some sounds, FX etc because they are not in the BSG folder. I will try to trace some of this down this weekend.


This is exactly what I did. I just presumed they had their own space. Would be great if you could send me the separate race version at some point in one big chunk, been waiting for this mod a while :)
ThePorkchopExpress
Type II Robot
Type II Robot
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 12:40 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby ThePorkchopExpress » Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:02 pm

I'll getting started on the Cylon mod after I've had my nap. Shouldnt be too much of a hassle given the apparent lack of diversity in the cylon fleet.. even with the ships in the original show factored in.
User avatar
magnus392
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:22 am

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby magnus392 » Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:36 am

I have both a Mac and PC compiled version packaged up if it is okay for me to share. It would be good to work up a read me.txt file giving credit for art etc. I wont upload without permission. I have done nothing besides package the mod into a stand alone mod/race, generated the necessary install file, tweaked the race file to recognize ship names and the colonial race and such. I did add the vanilla race standard turret mapping in the race file trying to fix the mapping/unknown slot type error I am getting.

Chop if you want to look at what I have done before approving release I can upload the mod sans images (for smaller download) for you to check out.
Babylon 5 Mod
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=6946
B5 Shadows Mod - Beta-
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=7103
ThePorkchopExpress
Type II Robot
Type II Robot
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 12:40 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby ThePorkchopExpress » Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:03 am

feel free to upload... im curious as to the cause of that glitch mapping/unknown slot type error
User avatar
magnus392
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:22 am

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby magnus392 » Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:24 pm

Babylon 5 Mod
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=6946
B5 Shadows Mod - Beta-
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=7103
Admiral Harken
Line Supervisor
Line Supervisor
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 8:07 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby Admiral Harken » Sun Aug 12, 2012 5:54 pm

Okay, I have no idea what's going on. I couldn't get the mod to work after unzipping the folder into my Gratuitous Space Battles folder, and after trying to remove what I'd put in to try it a different way, the basic game wouldn't work. I've uninstalled and reinstalled the game and IT STILL WON'T PLAY. WTF is going on? I didn't delete anything that wasn't part of the mod so why won't it even work after reinstallation???
Admiral Harken
Line Supervisor
Line Supervisor
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 8:07 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby Admiral Harken » Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:06 pm

Panic over, got the game to work thanks to the support bit of the forums, though now neither of the mods I had on there are working...and I have to start the game again from scratch unlocking stuff. Oh well...Seriously though, how do you install the mod? I'm not brilliant with computers but I got two before this one to work.
User avatar
magnus392
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:22 am

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby magnus392 » Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:51 pm

Check out the read me in my B5 mod it is pretty thorough.

Basically unzip, find GSB on your system, Move MOD folder into your data directory inside the GSB folder(you will see other race's folders here). Then move or copy the install file into the main data folder for the game in the INSTALL folder. Do the same for the sound files. Then you should be good to go.

I don't know if you have a Mac, PC, regular or Steam version of the game...but I hope it is basically the same.
Babylon 5 Mod
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=6946
B5 Shadows Mod - Beta-
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=7103
Admiral Harken
Line Supervisor
Line Supervisor
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 8:07 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby Admiral Harken » Sun Aug 12, 2012 7:32 pm

I've got a regular PC version downloaded directly from Positech. Really confused because I've done all the things you've told me to, but it still won't play. I keep seeing these .DS_Store files in the folders for the mod, should they be there? Apart from that I have no idea. I'm starting to feel like I'm just being an idiot.
User avatar
magnus392
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:22 am

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby magnus392 » Sun Aug 12, 2012 7:41 pm

Are you moving the BSG folder into your Resource folder? that is about the only thing I could think of as being done wrong.
Babylon 5 Mod
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=6946
B5 Shadows Mod - Beta-
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=7103
Admiral Harken
Line Supervisor
Line Supervisor
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 8:07 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby Admiral Harken » Sun Aug 12, 2012 7:45 pm

Resource folder? I put it into the general GSB folder, where the folders for the other add ons and mods are.
Admiral Harken
Line Supervisor
Line Supervisor
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 8:07 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby Admiral Harken » Sun Aug 12, 2012 8:02 pm

Are you using a Mac? Because even though you've made a Windows version I'm wondering whether that's why it isn't working. It might be where all these .DS_Store files are coming from, because they aren't anywhere else in the GSB folders apart from the colonials mod.

Return to “Gratuitous Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests