Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod - Please Help!

Welcome to the shipyards. Here you can discuss how to re-calibrate the positronic neutron flow to double power to the aft shields. Or you can discuss how to add new ships, new maps, new scenarios, new modules, etc. have fun!
User avatar
magnus392
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:22 am

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby magnus392 » Fri Aug 10, 2012 4:19 pm

Sorry, I turned in early last night. BUT, I did get the mod functional on my Mac:) It has some bugs so far that I am working on tracing down such as turret mapping errors, few missing sound files, FX files, slot types.

My initial response is the Galactica hull (I forget the class) has about twice as much power as it needs and it seems to set off chain reaction destruction of friendlies who are too close. Again it seems to, I can't prove it yet but I do believe someone posted that having huge power supplies can cause that. I literally just tried the Galactica hull and the Viper MkII... and a few modules each. I am encouraged so far:)
Babylon 5 Mod
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=6946
B5 Shadows Mod - Beta-
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=7103
ThePorkchopExpress
Type II Robot
Type II Robot
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 12:40 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby ThePorkchopExpress » Fri Aug 10, 2012 5:48 pm

remember what happened when the Pegasus went down?

did it say which sounds or turret mappings were missing?
ThePorkchopExpress
Type II Robot
Type II Robot
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 12:40 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby ThePorkchopExpress » Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:34 pm

create a folder named "icons" in the data/bitmaps folder and put these in there...

http://www.mediafire.com/?q3aa8s18k13ckrx
Admiral Harken
Line Supervisor
Line Supervisor
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 8:07 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby Admiral Harken » Fri Aug 10, 2012 8:10 pm

I'm having serious issues just getting the mod to work. I've downloaded and unzipped the files into all the folders as they should be (as far as I know), so I don't know why it isn't showing up in the game :(
User avatar
magnus392
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:22 am

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby magnus392 » Fri Aug 10, 2012 11:30 pm

Admiral Harken wrote:I'm having serious issues just getting the mod to work. I've downloaded and unzipped the files into all the folders as they should be (as far as I know), so I don't know why it isn't showing up in the game :(


I renamed the race file and made install files. If Porkchop is cool with it I can throw what I have together and upload it as a complete mod that does function. Now there may be quirks where stuff is missing, etc. But I can put up a download, instal and go version to make it easier on folks to try and offer feedback on. It is a job sorting everything, lol.
Babylon 5 Mod
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=6946
B5 Shadows Mod - Beta-
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=7103
Admiral Harken
Line Supervisor
Line Supervisor
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 8:07 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby Admiral Harken » Sat Aug 11, 2012 9:15 am

That would be cool. I'm pretty new both to GSB mods and mods in general, though I've gotten a couple of others to work. I think the sheer number of folders in the first download that threw me. Apart from that I'm looking forward to having a go, and by looking at the massive number of modules/weapons/ships that are included, I can tell PorkChop really put a lot into making this :)
ThePorkchopExpress
Type II Robot
Type II Robot
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 12:40 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby ThePorkchopExpress » Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:05 am

My OCD precluded the chance of a small mod. I suppose making a Colonial Cruiser Other Can opener might have been a bit unnecessary.


Did you put the Colonial and Federation txt files into the data/races folder?
Admiral Harken
Line Supervisor
Line Supervisor
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 8:07 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby Admiral Harken » Sat Aug 11, 2012 11:15 am

I did indeed, but still no joy. I've gone through all the folders and they are all as they should be, compared with the folders containing other mods I have running and DLC ship packs like the Parasites/Nomads etc, and I can't find anything that looks wrong.
ThePorkchopExpress
Type II Robot
Type II Robot
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 12:40 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby ThePorkchopExpress » Sat Aug 11, 2012 1:43 pm

Not sure what to tell you bro, I installed a copy of the game and loaded in everything I had uploaded.. thus far... everything goes boom where its supposed too...

although you'll need to go into the txt file for the Nova Class Battlestar and change one line to nova class battlestar.dds so it's in line with the nova class battlestar_damged.dds and nova class battlestar_hulk.dds

http://www.mediafire.com/?5t9siu7lczqy4ky

this contains the blue engine glow and the bullets (make sure you back up the original)
ThePorkchopExpress
Type II Robot
Type II Robot
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 12:40 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby ThePorkchopExpress » Sat Aug 11, 2012 1:47 pm

Actually, if you loaded the files into a separate folder like it was an add on like the tribe or swarm it prolly wont work. You need to put them in as if they were part of the original installation.
User avatar
magnus392
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:22 am

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby magnus392 » Sat Aug 11, 2012 2:56 pm

I think part of his issue is the the BSG mod according to your file structure being part of the Federation it appears. I have actually set them up as their own race and added separate install files etc for them. That may be why I am missing some sounds, FX etc because they are not in the BSG folder. I will try to trace some of this down this weekend.
Babylon 5 Mod
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=6946
B5 Shadows Mod - Beta-
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=7103
ThePorkchopExpress
Type II Robot
Type II Robot
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 12:40 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby ThePorkchopExpress » Sat Aug 11, 2012 4:09 pm

Other than it not working... how does it look?
User avatar
magnus392
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 207
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2011 4:22 am

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby magnus392 » Sat Aug 11, 2012 5:07 pm

It looks pretty good so far. I would like to see higher resolution images of the two major hulls I have tried out (Galactica and Pegasus). Some of the turret sizes need tweeking I think, for example the bow guns I would probably set them as size = 0, make the AA turrets smaller etc.

Please take all of this as constructive criticism, I am completely stoked about playing a BSG mod PERIOD! I am only offering my opinions in an effort to improve the experience. So anyway:

*So far most of the AA turrets have insanely high tracking speed, and many of your volume levels are too high. 1 is the standard level in game, and I tend to reduce more than boost on those.
*Turret Sizes need tweeking as mentioned above.
*Consider tweaking weapons ranges/rate of fire with such large ships. Often times speed is a penalty when doing this.
*The power core/chain reaction destruction could stand more scrutiny from a player and modder stand point.
*Higher res art
*really evaluate the number of turrets and the seeming redundancy of some. I completely understand the desire for accuracy, but having 3-4 turrets that are basically the same or so similar that it is tough to tell the difference ingame then they might not be necessary. Most times less is more.
*Add pre-loaded hulls. It gives the gamer the exact experience you want them to have, and if they like it great. If not, they can roll their own.
*Add some BSG scenarios. Even if very basic, with cool BSG Music!!!

So that is the criticism so far. I haven't play tested near as much as I would like, but those are the observations so far. The work seems awesome and considering the way you had to upload it you did a GREAT job of making sure most everything was included. Hell I have uploaded a "completed" mod that had more bugs than I have found so far in yours. Oh I did figure out some missing stuff:

Orignial uploads are missing the:
*cannon fade 2 (paraphrasing the exact file name) *present in sound redo
*turret_missile_m7 (still missing) affected Modules are the Frigate/Cruiser Col. Krate MkV LRCM Bat
*Fighter EMP Missle art is missing *present in icon redo
*I am getting 15 empty Fighter/Other modules with No Art, No description. I cannot seem to locate corresponding module files. That is probably my error for "unknown slot type" as I have manually went through every file checking category and slot type, and I think I checked size, but don't remember.

I hope that helps and I will keep working and debugging from my end.
Babylon 5 Mod
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=6946
B5 Shadows Mod - Beta-
http://positech.co.uk/forums/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=7103
ThePorkchopExpress
Type II Robot
Type II Robot
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2011 12:40 pm

Re: Battlestar Galactica Colonial Fleet Mod

Postby ThePorkchopExpress » Sat Aug 11, 2012 5:18 pm


Return to “Gratuitous Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests