Current Work In progress

bugs and support requests for gratuitous space battles. welcome to main engineering...
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 8010
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Current Work In progress

Postby cliffski » Tue Nov 24, 2009 4:06 pm

you should never, ever see ships of more than one race in that screen. Is this happening? under what circumstances?
User avatar
Watsong
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 11:53 am

Re: Current Work In progress

Postby Watsong » Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:48 am

I am impressed dude. Those ship filters are like totally

Bill_Ted_Excellent.jpg
Bill_Ted_Excellent.jpg (23.12 KiB) Viewed 3362 times
User avatar
BlckKnght
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 6:31 pm

Re: Current Work In progress

Postby BlckKnght » Wed Nov 25, 2009 12:58 am

cliffski wrote:New UI think that various people have requested. Buttons that allow you to filter the ship design list to just show fighters, or frigates, or cruisers. Should make things slightly less cumbersome for people with a ton of ship designs to choose from.

While reducing clutter is nice, I think this only fixes a relatively small part of the "pain" felt by players regarding ship design management. The larger issues I've seen are:

  • The "load ship" window on the ship design screen does not tell you anything about the designs, so if you have many of them it is almost mandatory that you encode relevant information about the design into the ship design's name (at least race and size).
  • The ship design screen allows you to work on hulls for races other than the currently selected one, even when you access it from the deployment screen!
  • There is no way to group ship designs into folders, compare designs or search through designs to find a specific one you want.
  • Ships that are invalid due to patches or modding can't be loaded, even if minor changes could make them legal again. (I'd prefer that loading work, with any modules that are broken or don't exist being removed. Saving an invalid design could still fail.)
  • The deployment screen doesn't immediately identify a ship design except by the hull shape, so if you reuse the same hull for many designs, they'll all look identical until you hover the mouse over them.
  • When you hover over a ship class on the deployment screen, you only get to see the class name, not any other useful details (like price).
  • When a ship is too expensive to be deployed, you can't even see the class name when you hover over it!
  • You can't see the details of a ship design without deploying at least one ship of the design. While you hold a ship it's modules will be displayed, but as soon as you let go (off the screen) the info disappears again.
jpinard
Type I Robot
Type I Robot
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:49 am

Re: Current Work In progress

Postby jpinard » Wed Nov 25, 2009 3:49 am

Oh wow, that will help a TON!
jpinard
Type I Robot
Type I Robot
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:49 am

Re: Current Work In progress

Postby jpinard » Wed Nov 25, 2009 3:59 am

tater wrote:I think that it would be far more useful to keep the mix of unit types, but sort them BY RACE.

Ie, when you have a given race selected, it pulls ships from a folder with the race name inside the ships folder.

When you deploy, you want to see all the ships in one place—what you don't want to see are ships you are not allowed to deploy because they are the wrong race.


Tater has a point, but I still think sorting by ship makes more sense. In a perfect world we could do both :) In my best Eric Idle voice, "hint-hint, nudge-nudge"
Cliffski, if there's not enough button space to sort by race, maybe you could add keyboard shortcuts instead? ex:

F1 - SHOW ALL RACE SHIPS
F2 - Show Federation ships only
F3 - Show Rebel ships only
F4 - Show Alliance ships only
F5 - Show Empire ships only.

---or---

S - Show all Ships.
F - Federation ships only.
R - Rebel ships only.
A - Alliance ships only.
E - Empire ships only.

These coupled with the ship buttons you already added would be perfect.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 8010
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Current Work In progress

Postby cliffski » Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:48 am

Yes, this all needs improvement, I'm trying to interleave stuff like this with bug fixes, new features etc.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 8010
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Current Work In progress

Postby cliffski » Wed Nov 25, 2009 3:03 pm

Another new thing. This allows challenges to be aware of what mods or expansions are installed, and auto-tags (but you can un-tag) your challenges with them, so that people downloading them can get a nice friendly message if they don't have the right stuff installed:

Image
User avatar
tater
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Current Work In progress

Postby tater » Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:54 pm

My bad.

I think perhaps I was thinking of the "load" screen or "change" WRT hulls. I get the total list even though I'm in Fed, etc.
jpinard
Type I Robot
Type I Robot
Posts: 42
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 8:49 am

Re: Current Work In progress

Postby jpinard » Thu Nov 26, 2009 4:47 am

I'm sorry Cliffski,
I haven't gotten far enough to have multiple race designs yet. I just assumed they'd all show up together hence my suggestion. So if you can't mix different races ships together in one mission my suggestion probably isn't relevant or needed.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 8010
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Current Work In progress

Postby cliffski » Mon Nov 30, 2009 2:13 pm

New stuff:

Image
User avatar
Hybrinoid
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 968
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 3:44 am
Contact:

Re: Current Work In progress

Postby Hybrinoid » Mon Nov 30, 2009 11:02 pm

cool! :D
My Gratuitous Youtube Channel
http://www.youtube.com/user/hybrinoid
User avatar
tater
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Current Work In progress

Postby tater » Tue Dec 01, 2009 12:13 am

Neat. Should make it possible to create novel scenarios.

Could you add an ammo count for missiles, even if the default is "-1" or whatever you'd use for "no limit?"
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 8010
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Current Work In progress

Postby cliffski » Tue Dec 01, 2009 4:01 pm

tater wrote:Could you add an ammo count for missiles, even if the default is "-1" or whatever you'd use for "no limit?"


That is a separate issue, with potentially huge balance issues, but certainly something I am mulling over.
User avatar
tater
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 435
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2009 6:48 pm

Re: Current Work In progress

Postby tater » Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:44 pm

cliffski wrote:
tater wrote:Could you add an ammo count for missiles, even if the default is "-1" or whatever you'd use for "no limit?"


That is a separate issue, with potentially huge balance issues, but certainly something I am mulling over.


Yeah, that's why I was suggesting an implementation that would not affect current balance. Set it up, then set the stock game such that there is no ammo count (infinite).

Perhaps if the module description value for ammo_count defaults to "infinite" unless overwritten with a new value. Ie: no value in the module text means infinite, any integer value there overrides infinite with the new value.

That way we could mod it, and you'd get to see it in action before all the work of balance testing.
User avatar
Watsong
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 248
Joined: Wed Sep 02, 2009 11:53 am

Re: Current Work In progress

Postby Watsong » Sat Dec 05, 2009 12:27 pm

Supply limits... what a beard stroking addition! The time to complete many missions will now be greater than 5 minutes!! Less reconstructing the previous mission's super fleet and more thoughtful design. The supply list needs to be easily accessible from the deployment screen.

However!, how will ship designs work? I don't want to have a mammoth list of mission designs, each set being for one mission. And then a further set of designs for challenge mode. It will be a complete mess. We will need more control over ship design filtering.

Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests