PATCH RELEASED (1.63)

bugs and support requests for gratuitous space battles. welcome to main engineering...
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7975
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

PATCH RELEASED (1.63)

Postby cliffski » Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:25 am

Ok, everyone who has bought the game before 10.23AM GMT will be running 100, everyone who bought after that has 101.
What SHOULD happen:
If you have 100, then running the game should automatically download and run a patch installer (once only). You are then running version 101

What MIGHT happen:
This might fuck up :D. If it does, no problem, just uninstall the game entirely, and re download it using your link sent to you by BMT-micro. you then get a ready-patched version.

Thanks for everyone's patience. I had intended to wait another day to ensure I could track down the sound-related crash bug, but I've hurried this patch up because of this Error 41 crap.

UPDATE: there is a now a 1.02 version. same rules apply as above.
...
UPDATE: there is a now a 1.63 version. same rules apply as above.

NOTE: read this if you have stardocks impulse, and bought the game through them:
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=3113&p=16234&hilit=installer#p16234
folo4
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:26 am

Re: PATCH RELEASED (1.01)

Postby folo4 » Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:31 am

GRATUITOUS WHITE SCREEN!

...I'll try downloading through the BMT-micro link.

edit: it's my video card. Disregard this stupid debacle.
Last edited by folo4 on Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:42 am, edited 1 time in total.
Maristyl
Type II Robot
Type II Robot
Posts: 67
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 8:45 pm

Re: PATCH RELEASED (1.01)

Postby Maristyl » Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:33 am

Does this patch allow us to turn sound and battle menu back on and take it out of windowed mode? Us being the people who have to do that to play of course. The patch worked as advertised for me, on start up it installed the patch perfectly.
User avatar
Revendel
Senior Line Supervisor
Senior Line Supervisor
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 12:36 am

Re: PATCH RELEASED (1.01)

Postby Revendel » Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:38 am

Not sure, but the patch broke formation/escort etc. orders for me, it just doesn't work when I want to select a ship. Just "beeps" and then doesn't put its name nor does it draw the lines. Is it me or it's a new issue?
xyloidhead
Senior Line Worker
Senior Line Worker
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:31 am

Re: PATCH RELEASED (1.01)

Postby xyloidhead » Tue Sep 01, 2009 10:01 am

Running the 1.00 just locks up with the Error 41. I'll just re-download and start again tomorrow.

Well tried dowloading it tonight, so I could just start playing tomorrow. Alas the download link just tells me the password I was sent is blocked. I'll have to try again tomorrow.
12side
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:09 pm

Re: PATCH RELEASED (1.01)

Postby 12side » Tue Sep 01, 2009 12:29 pm

I'll try this when I get back from work. Hopefully the blocked password issue is resolved, as my coworker was having similar issues this morning
emorphien
Line Supervisor
Line Supervisor
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:21 pm

Re: PATCH RELEASED (1.01)

Postby emorphien » Tue Sep 01, 2009 1:34 pm

I can start the game again!

However it seems I can no longer issue any formation type commands in the fleet layout. I'm only testing it in one battle at the moment, I'll update later if it works in another battle. I've tried it with escort and formation and if I drag to set the target when I click nothing happens.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7975
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: PATCH RELEASED (1.01)

Postby cliffski » Tue Sep 01, 2009 1:43 pm

emorphien wrote:I can start the game again!

However it seems I can no longer issue any formation type commands in the fleet layout. I'm only testing it in one battle at the moment, I'll update later if it works in another battle. I've tried it with escort and formation and if I drag to set the target when I click nothing happens.


Indeed. This was stupidly broken by me when I was fixing another bug. I have fixed this new, lovely bug and that will be corrected in the next patch. It was a bit of a silly mistake. I added code to ensure that orders that were invalid (you add a formation order but forget to assign it to a parent ship) got silently deleted, but it accidentally also gets triggered when you are in the process of adding that order, which I had not double-checked! It will be fixed by tomorrow though :(
User avatar
Legedi
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 1:25 am

Re: PATCH RELEASED (1.01)

Postby Legedi » Tue Sep 01, 2009 1:56 pm

I'm also having the problem where I'm trying to re-download the game, but none of the BTM links will work. It just says "The password is blocked."
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7975
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: PATCH RELEASED (1.01)

Postby cliffski » Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:30 pm

Try again now, I just got them to relax the blocking limit
User avatar
Legedi
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 1:25 am

Re: PATCH RELEASED (1.01)

Postby Legedi » Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:37 pm

Nope, same error still.
Ballisticsfood
Line Manager
Line Manager
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 5:21 pm

Re: PATCH RELEASED (1.01)

Postby Ballisticsfood » Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:42 pm

I'm getting the same from them. Password blocked. Doesn't give a reason...
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7975
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: PATCH RELEASED (1.01)

Postby cliffski » Tue Sep 01, 2009 3:01 pm

I just manually refreshed both your links, you should get the emails re-triggered and the links re-activated now,
Cheers
Ballisticsfood
Line Manager
Line Manager
Posts: 34
Joined: Mon Aug 31, 2009 5:21 pm

Re: PATCH RELEASED (1.01)

Postby Ballisticsfood » Tue Sep 01, 2009 3:02 pm

Thanks. Email turned up about 2 seconds ago and it's redownloading as I type.
User avatar
Legedi
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 138
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 1:25 am

Re: PATCH RELEASED (1.01)

Postby Legedi » Tue Sep 01, 2009 3:04 pm

That worked, thanks.

Return to “Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest