Kudos 2 with Windows 7

Discussion of the life-sim game 'Kudos 2'. What did you achieve in your ten years?
Apocaliptica
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 1:30 pm

Kudos 2 with Windows 7

Postby Apocaliptica » Sun May 03, 2009 1:35 pm

Hi, I installed my new OS including all my other games and everything's fine.
I also installed Impulse and Kudos 2.
Starting the game is possible, the menu shows up.
When I try to click on one of these buttons, the FPS drop to <10, the text and the buttons disappear.
I tried it with compatibility modes, but it seems I cant fix it easily.

Help please :) I love the game!

greetings
Apocaliptica
Last edited by Apocaliptica on Sat Aug 29, 2009 12:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 8008
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Kudos 2 with Windows 7 RC 7100 x64

Postby cliffski » Tue May 05, 2009 8:05 am

Sounds like a driver issue with that release candidate, its unlikely that performance on games with anything but a final release copy will be as good as they should be.
sonichu
Line Supervisor
Line Supervisor
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 5:24 pm

Re: Kudos 2 with Windows 7 RC 7100 x64

Postby sonichu » Fri May 15, 2009 4:24 am

The crash is from a beta version of Windows 7. I don't think cliff is an official beta tester so I don't think he could get ahold of it, especially since he's quite against piracy so I doubt he's going to download it from a torrent.
SomeGuyInABikini
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 163
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2008 1:56 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Contact:

Re: Kudos 2 with Windows 7 RC 7100 x64

Postby SomeGuyInABikini » Sat May 16, 2009 2:51 am

Not suggesting that he does *wink wink* but if Cliffski did want to play with Windows 7 there is a very easy, very official, very legal way to get a hold of Windows 7:
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/window ... nload.aspx
However as it's an RC it will eventually time-out, but not before "The RC will expire on June 1, 2010. Starting on March 1, 2010, your PC will begin shutting down every two hours."

I did find that 2 hour window quite amusing. That's easily enough time to crank out a game of Kudos :D

Wayno, quick clicker extraordinaire
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 8008
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Kudos 2 with Windows 7 RC 7100 x64

Postby cliffski » Sat May 16, 2009 7:40 am

I don't test games on a RC, because they tend to have early drivers and its almost always drivers that are the issue. With a game like Kudos, it does absolutely nothing fancy with the O/S, security privileges, file or memory access or the registry, so in a sense it will be totally unaffected except by drivers support.
HHUK
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 7:56 pm

Re: Kudos 2 with Windows 7 RC 7100 x64

Postby HHUK » Thu Jul 09, 2009 7:59 pm

I'm having the same problem, Windows 7 RC, got all my drivers sorted, all very stable, latest from NVidia, 32 bit version of the OS rather than 64.

It runs fine, sets up a new game.. but any of the buttons on the bottom bar reduce the game to a blank UI and low frames per second. Happens on the same bottom bar from the main menu when trying to open the options tab. Same result when in windowed or full screen mode.
Apocaliptica
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 1:30 pm

Re: Kudos 2 with Windows 7 RC 7100 x64

Postby Apocaliptica » Thu Aug 27, 2009 10:19 pm

Ok, Windows 7 is RTM since some weeks and I tested it again:

-Windows 7 with Nvidia 190.62
-Windows Vista with Nvidia 190.62

The driver works for both operating systems. Kudos 2 works perfect on vista, but got the decribed bugs on windows 7.
Both systems were tested under exactly the same configuration, drivers and programs.
thenameipicked
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 9:58 pm

Re: Kudos 2 with Windows 7

Postby thenameipicked » Tue Sep 29, 2009 5:17 am

I have the full, professional version (as part of MSDNAA) of Windows 7...and have bought and downloaded the game. Works great so far!
coldpower27
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:33 am

Re: Kudos 2 with Windows 7

Postby coldpower27 » Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:39 am

I am trying to run the game in Windows 7 Professional also from MSDNAA and I have a Nvidia card with the latest driver set and it isn't working.... XP Mode will not work with 3D Games so that is out, I am at a loss for what to do. :(
Apocaliptica
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 1:30 pm

Re: Kudos 2 with Windows 7

Postby Apocaliptica » Sat Nov 14, 2009 6:12 pm

Tested the latest Nvidia WHQL and also Beta drivers, still the same old problem and no fix -_-
Jaken
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 02, 2009 3:36 am

Re: Kudos 2 with Windows 7

Postby Jaken » Wed Dec 02, 2009 4:09 am

I have this problem as well. Cliffsky, you must patch this. This is the ONLY piece of software that I am unable to get to work in Windows 7. Its is THE operating system right now, and unless you want this fun game to be considered abandonware, you need to fix this issue.
alias76
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2009 6:40 pm

Re: Kudos 2 with Windows 7

Postby alias76 » Thu Dec 31, 2009 6:48 pm

Hi
I used to play Kudos about a year ago or more lol and thought I would have another go today.
So I downloaded the demo and Im running Windows 7-official version but guess what it come up saying it's not supported with this operating system-any chance we can sort this out as loved the game.
However Im not sure which version I demo downloaded-just typed in kudos and went to the website and downloaded the demo so it could be version 1, if so do we know if any of the Kudos version work with Windows 7?

Any help on this would be ace.
:)
Nesrie
Senior Line Worker
Senior Line Worker
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 24, 2009 9:04 am

Re: Kudos 2 with Windows 7

Postby Nesrie » Thu Jan 07, 2010 7:35 am

Jaken wrote:I have this problem as well. Cliffsky, you must patch this. This is the ONLY piece of software that I am unable to get to work in Windows 7. Its is THE operating system right now, and unless you want this fun game to be considered abandonware, you need to fix this issue.


Still no assistance huh. That is unfortunate. Same here, only piece of software I have aside from an imaging pos program, that doesn't work for me. Really unfortunate. All the digi stores should put a warning on this title until/if it gets fixed.
ice9slushie
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:24 pm

Re: Kudos 2 with Windows 7

Postby ice9slushie » Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:34 pm

Cliff,

I loved Kudos and Rock Legend, but I'm glad I checked the forum before buying Kudos 2. The day that Kudos 2 works reliably on Windows 7 with an Nvidia graphics card, that is the day that I'm buying it on Impulse. Just sayin'.

On second thought: I guess I probably won't actually check back here every day. The week that it works, though, I'm there.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 8008
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Kudos 2 with Windows 7

Postby cliffski » Tue Jan 26, 2010 11:15 am

Have you tried the demo? the demo and full version should work the same way. It only seems to be certain video cards (not even all nvidia) that have this issue.

Return to “Kudos 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest