Mac Copy on sale now

Discussion of the newest version of the game
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7969
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Mac Copy on sale now

Postby cliffski » Mon Jul 28, 2008 2:54 pm

Here it is:

http://www.redmarblegames.com/democracy2.html

Ported by our partners at redmarblegames.com again. Best to direct any support requests that may be mac specific to them, rather than me, I know nothing about macs I'm afraid.
Don't forget to tell everyone you know who has a mac! :D
User avatar
hardy24
Type II Robot
Type II Robot
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Mac Copy on sale now

Postby hardy24 » Tue Jul 29, 2008 11:28 am

Cliff, i've already paid for a copy of the PC version, how do I get a copy of the MAC version and activate it with the same code, as you suggested previously on the forum you'd be able to do.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7969
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Mac Copy on sale now

Postby cliffski » Tue Jul 29, 2008 7:04 pm

Hi, can you email me from the address you bought the game with at cliff AT positech.... and I'll sort it out
Cheers
User avatar
hardy24
Type II Robot
Type II Robot
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 7:25 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Mac Copy on sale now

Postby hardy24 » Fri Aug 01, 2008 6:43 pm

Thanks cliff, but Red Marble sorted me out.

Another question is, for bugs in the Mac version do I report them to you or them?
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7969
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Mac Copy on sale now

Postby cliffski » Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:41 am

To them generally, as I just need to pass them on to them.
Cheers
bjornkri
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 3:02 pm

Re: Mac Copy on sale now

Postby bjornkri » Mon Aug 11, 2008 3:07 pm

I just ordered the Mac version, and noticed that it's currently at version 1.11. Do the Mac and PC versions use the same version numbering? I tried updating in-game and get an 'Order ID invalid' error, but maybe that's for them more than it is for you...

In any case, if the Mac version is lagging behind it's good to know that I could download the PC version and run it in Bootcamp until the Mac version catches up, but I don't want to go through that trouble for nothing, so I thought I'd ask :P

Thanks!
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7969
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Mac Copy on sale now

Postby cliffski » Mon Aug 11, 2008 3:15 pm

The version numbers may be out of synch, but they are up to date. I don't recall any patches to the PC version since the mac copy was released.
bjornkri
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2008 3:02 pm

Re: Mac Copy on sale now

Postby bjornkri » Mon Aug 11, 2008 6:54 pm

Weeeell, I just took a look at what was included in the latest patches and checked. The Royal scandal mission still says 'British' in my version, and when I tried adding voter groups the do show up in the graphs, but not on the main screen :/ I haven't looked at this in detail though, so I don't know exactly which version the Mac version matches up with.

I've contacted redmarblegames already about this and some other issues...

EDIT: Just as a follow up, redmarblegames were super quick to reply, and assured me they are either working on - or at least know of and will work on - most of the issues I've had. These are mostly minor issues, the main one being my concern over the patching lagging behind. Still, the game is very playable and a lot of fun. :)
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7969
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Mac Copy on sale now

Postby cliffski » Tue Aug 12, 2008 8:10 am

Hmmm. Maybe I'm wrong and they are a patch behind. This is one of the problems of regular updates and patches sadly. If they are happy to do a patch, I'm always happy for them to take the latest code, I'll see what they say.
toussaint83
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 8:53 pm

Problem with Mac copy

Postby toussaint83 » Mon Sep 08, 2008 9:01 pm

Yesterday, I purchased a copy of Democracy 2 for Mac. Whenever, the program begins initializing the simulation (i.e. when I click "How to Play" and "Start") it shuts down. How do I fix this?
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7969
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Mac Copy on sale now

Postby cliffski » Tue Sep 09, 2008 8:08 am

Hi, could you email support@redmarblegames.com with that, because they did the port and understand the Mac operating system way better than me, and can provide better support. Cheers.
dzlotnik
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 3:01 pm

Re: Mac Copy on sale now

Postby dzlotnik » Thu Sep 11, 2008 3:14 pm

Hi Cliff,

First of all, thank you for the great game, which I've so far only experienced as a demo. I'm here by way of Shamus Young's blog, and wanted to mention that I am interested in buying Democracy 2 in very large part because of your recent post on DRM and piracy, and the subsequent removal of DRM from the aforementioned game.

Now, for the actual question: I travel frequently and so alternate between my WinXP desktop and my OSX 10.4 laptop. Needless to say, I don't concurrently run programs on both, but I do like to have a game or two to pass the time at the airport or in the air. I saw hardy24 mention a similar situation above, and so wanted to clarify: Is there an option to pay for one license, but get both the OSX and Windows versions of the game? I by no means *expect* to be able to, but would be very grateful it if such a thing were possible.

Thanks again for the great product -- I'll have to check out the rest of the lineup when I've some free time again!
GoBecky
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:38 pm

Re: Mac Copy on sale now

Postby GoBecky » Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:51 pm

Just a tip for anyone who is experiencing a crash when you try to start a new game in the Mac version:

The app must live directly in your /Applications folder in order to run properly. Trying to run it from the downloaded disk image, your desktop, or even a subfolder of /Applications (such as/Applications/Games) will invariably cause it to be unplayable. Moving it to /Applications will fix the issue immediately (no need to delete pref files or anything).

If only all bugs were so easily squashed! :)
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7969
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Mac Copy on sale now

Postby cliffski » Sun Sep 14, 2008 12:34 pm

dzlotnik wrote: Is there an option to pay for one license, but get both the OSX and Windows versions of the game? I by no means *expect* to be able to, but would be very grateful it if such a thing were possible.


Yes no problem. basically if you buy the PC version, once you have it email me (cliff@positech.co.uk) and ask me for the mac copy, and vice versa if you bought the mac copy first. It's a manual process, because it's two different companies, but we have an agreement where we allow format shifting.
Cheers
That Guy
Senior Line Worker
Senior Line Worker
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 12:54 am

Re: Mac Copy on sale now

Postby That Guy » Sun Jan 25, 2009 8:52 am

why is the mac copy cheaper than the PC copy? Wouldn't it make sense for me to just buy the mac copy then contact you and then get the windows copy, essentially for 3 dollars less?

Return to “Democracy 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests