New patch available (1.23)

Discussion of the newest version of the game
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7961
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

New patch available (1.23)

Postby cliffski » Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:24 pm

PLEASE GO TO THE END OF THIS TOPIC FOR THE LATEST LINKS AND INFORMATION






Ok, the new patched copy is up now, so if you bought the game earlier, you can redownload it to get the new version. Probably best to uninstall the old version first just in case.
Here are the changes:

1.01
---------
Fixed bug where you can click the wrong buttons during tutorial.
Fixed missing images for demo dialog.
Fixed bug where mouse clicks failed after you lost an election.
Fixed bug on loading save games (manifesto option not found).
Added variable political capital for each action.
Player can now set initial slider value for new policies as they choose without penalty.
Fixed nonsense results on post-election window where a voter group was reduced to zero members.
Fixed bug where mouseover effect failed on dilemma option buttons.
Last edited by cliffski on Thu Dec 13, 2007 2:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
rasnell
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 10:56 am

Postby rasnell » Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:30 am

So you don't use the button in the game to check for a new version? Not really a patch, a completely new download?
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7961
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby cliffski » Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:12 am

In this case the .exe of the game changed, so the internal patcher can't replace itself, so sadly its a re-download ;(
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7961
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby cliffski » Thu Dec 13, 2007 2:17 pm

Heres the new patch details . Again it's a full redownlaod. I'll try and get a patcher sorted for any further ones.

Fixed bug where election was seen as imminent on reports just after an election was won.
Changed election text to not say 'years' in case 1 year term was selected.
Changed the description of violent crime.
Fixed bug where save and resume buttons dissapeared if you had started by loading in a saved game.
Fixed crash bug when banning tobacco adverts.
Changed load game screen to use last modified time rather than creation time.
Fixed bug where some simulation values could go below 0 when they were suppsoed to have a 0 minimum.
Fixed bug where the values of some taxes could be scaled wrong the first turn after loading a game.
Added new option to browse potential ministers withou firing someone first.
Fixed bug where slider values could be wrong with sliders that have discrete notches in them. (also loading in invalid values)
Added support for new names files, and added russian and spanish names to existing missions
ddunwoody
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 8:06 pm

Postby ddunwoody » Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:27 pm

Cliff,

Am I right in thinking that I should be able to re-download from BMT Micro? The order email I got said my password would be valid until 9th December 2008, but I'm getting an error page saying "The password has expiried".

Is this something I need to take up with you, or with them?

Cheers,

David
Kopernikus
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:54 pm

1.02

Postby Kopernikus » Thu Dec 13, 2007 11:05 pm

Do I have to uninstal my 1.01 game and then have to re-install 1.02? Or, when will the update patch available?
theadder
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 10:59 pm

Postby theadder » Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:30 am

If I can't patch the original game to bring it up to version 1.02 then doesn't that make the $10 CD that I bought useless?
User avatar
gi joe
Line Manager
Line Manager
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: London Town

Postby gi joe » Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:49 am

Can you drop BMT Micro. The demo just ended, I just paid for the full version from them. Downloaded half then cut out, now can't get any connection to BMT Micro and pinging them they don't seem to exist.
theadder
Junior Line Supervisor
Junior Line Supervisor
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Apr 15, 2006 10:59 pm

Postby theadder » Fri Dec 14, 2007 1:24 am

I'm still having problems with BMT Micro. It was very helpful that you took the time to offer me a specific fix but it has now been 4 days since I sent them a follow-up email and they still have not replied.

It is good that the issue is basically resolved and I noticed that you have updated my link to allow me to download the new patch however its not ideal to have to work around them.

Will there be a downloadable patcher so that my CD is useful?
Trigger
Senior Line Supervisor
Senior Line Supervisor
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 10:28 pm

Re: 1.02

Postby Trigger » Fri Dec 14, 2007 4:15 am

Kopernikus wrote:Do I have to uninstal my 1.01 game and then have to re-install 1.02? Or, when will the update patch available?


Yes, you should uninstall 1.01 and then install 1.02. He said a few posts up that he is working on a patcher, but in the meantime, this is the only way to update.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7961
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby cliffski » Fri Dec 14, 2007 8:51 am

I will hassle BMT micro to get their downloads sorted out, and put a patch together as soon as I can.
TomPhil
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 323
Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2007 12:48 pm
Location: Stockport, UK

Re: New patch available (1.02)

Postby TomPhil » Fri Dec 14, 2007 7:05 pm

I have to say that I have never had any problems with BMT Micro, either with this game or previous Positech games I have bought through them (I'm not suggesting that some people are not, but merely giving a balancing opinion).
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7961
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: New patch available (1.04)

Postby cliffski » Tue Dec 18, 2007 2:18 pm

I had to do another very minor patch (1.04) only the exe changed:

Code: Select all

1.04
---------
   Fixed bug where text from an intel report is visible through the manifesto window
   Fixed bug where certain dilemma effects were wrong when first selected.


if you don't want to do a full re-download here is a patcher: (will only work on full version)

http://www.positech.co.uk/democracy2/Democracy2patch104.exe
User avatar
Glinka
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 209
Joined: Sun Aug 20, 2006 8:12 pm

Re: New patch available (1.04)

Postby Glinka » Wed Dec 19, 2007 12:06 am

Could you put up a list of what was fixed in 1.03, Cliff?

Appears that the ministers with changing portfolio interests has vanished. Good on you for doing that one so quickly.
Exzar
Line Manager
Line Manager
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 1:09 am

Re: New patch available (1.04)

Postby Exzar » Wed Dec 19, 2007 12:49 am

If you signed up for the mailing list you'll have received an e-mail with a list of all changes up to 1.03.

1.03
---------
Fixed bug that meant ministers were more miserable than they should have been.
Fixed unlimited power mode for new policies.
Fixed bug where loading save games seemed to half-randomise ministerial sympathies.
Fixed crash bug (unscripted function) in approval of alcohol advert ban.
Changed bus subsidies so they affect usage of cars but not air quality directly.
Reduced font size for ministers name on policy screens.
Fixed bug where security isn't assessed correctly just after a load.
Proper loading of pressure group membership now.
Fixed crash bug with certain video cards.

Return to “Democracy 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest