ON SALE NOW

Discussion of the newest version of the game
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7975
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

ON SALE NOW

Postby cliffski » Fri Dec 07, 2007 2:47 pm

Ok, this is what we call a 'soft release', in that I'm announcing it here quietly so I can trap any problems with the order process or the installer etc. But basically the game is now on sale. Hurrah! I am sooooooo tired....

here it is:

http://www.positech.co.uk/democracy2

Let me know if anyone has any problems.
I need sleep...
Rissen
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:11 pm

Postby Rissen » Fri Dec 07, 2007 2:57 pm

The 'Get it now' button links to a shopping cart for the game Kudos, not Democracy...
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7975
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby cliffski » Fri Dec 07, 2007 3:11 pm

aha :D
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7975
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby cliffski » Fri Dec 07, 2007 3:14 pm

Ok That's fixed now... cheers :D
Rissen
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:11 pm

Postby Rissen » Fri Dec 07, 2007 4:50 pm

No probs!
Rissen
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 115
Joined: Fri Mar 23, 2007 5:11 pm

Postby Rissen » Fri Dec 07, 2007 4:51 pm

Now it automatically marks you up for both Kudos and Democracy. Easily changeable, but...

Edit: Tried to buy it but payment was declined. Could be a mistake on this end though.

Edit 2: Nope, tried it again and it failed again.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7975
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby cliffski » Fri Dec 07, 2007 6:40 pm

I'll investigate. i have got some orders, so it must work. I'll email BMT.
It uses cookies, so if you ever clicked on the kudos buy page (or the wrong link from earlier) it will be in there.
britfan
Junior Line Worker
Junior Line Worker
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2007 11:27 pm

Postby britfan » Sat Dec 08, 2007 11:29 pm

Hi there, having just purchased the product and reading of problems, can you confirm for me that if there are further bugs - once it is fixed - do you send out new download links?

If so is that done via email or is there an automatic update feature?

Thanks.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7975
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Postby cliffski » Sat Dec 08, 2007 11:36 pm

you can click the update button (on the on-line screen) and check for a new version, although there inst one yet. when there is, the same download link will download a newer version.
The only problem I'm aware of is a demo-only thing. There is a suggestion for improvement which I plan to implement (restricted power stuff), but I'll see if there are other fixes or suggestions first before finalising the patch.
User avatar
gi joe
Line Manager
Line Manager
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:25 pm
Location: London Town

Postby gi joe » Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:47 am

Not sure I'm keen on the activation of the game. Although I guess you have to do that due to there being no CD/DVD to check. What if I need to reinstall XP on move to a new PC, will I need to activate again? What if, for whatever reason, you stopped supporting the game, Positech Games shut down and you disappeared, would we still be able to activate the game online?

Even after all these years I can still play the game I love, Capitalism 2. I'm sure if it needed activation I wouldn't be able to play it anymore as it's no long supported.
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7975
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ON SALE NOW

Postby cliffski » Fri Dec 14, 2007 3:10 pm

I've been around 10 years and am not going anywhere. You need to activate once on any machine you want to play it on. I may release a patch in the future that removes it, but I'm afraid piracy is just too rampant not to do some protection for new games. I have already seen people asking for cracks for the game, and its not even out a week yet ;(.
mrstarware
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:02 pm

Re: ON SALE NOW

Postby mrstarware » Fri Dec 14, 2007 3:42 pm

cliffski wrote:I've been around 10 years and am not going anywhere. You need to activate once on any machine you want to play it on. I may release a patch in the future that removes it, but I'm afraid piracy is just too rampant not to do some protection for new games. I have already seen people asking for cracks for the game, and its not even out a week yet ;(.
Wow that's bad! I mean I don't like paying for games either but to just crack it? especially after one week? :lol:
Zild
Line Manager
Line Manager
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 5:18 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: ON SALE NOW

Postby Zild » Fri Dec 14, 2007 6:55 pm

cliffski wrote:I've been around 10 years and am not going anywhere. You need to activate once on any machine you want to play it on. I may release a patch in the future that removes it, but I'm afraid piracy is just too rampant not to do some protection for new games. I have already seen people asking for cracks for the game, and its not even out a week yet ;(.

We all get hit by busses, my friend...

Well, obviously not all of us. My point is that you might get hit by one tomorrow and then not be around anymore. With Positech being just you, that has connotations for your customers.

(Maybe you could build an unprotected version to be released in the event of your death? :shock: )

</morbid>
User avatar
cliffski
Positech Staff
Positech Staff
Posts: 7975
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 10:27 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: ON SALE NOW

Postby cliffski » Fri Dec 14, 2007 7:35 pm

a mate of mine has backup of my source code, he will be able to sort it out if I do get wiped out.
mrstarware
Supreme Robot
Supreme Robot
Posts: 105
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 11:02 pm

Re: ON SALE NOW

Postby mrstarware » Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:25 pm

Zild wrote:
cliffski wrote:I've been around 10 years and am not going anywhere. You need to activate once on any machine you want to play it on. I may release a patch in the future that removes it, but I'm afraid piracy is just too rampant not to do some protection for new games. I have already seen people asking for cracks for the game, and its not even out a week yet ;(.

We all get hit by busses, my friend...

Well, obviously not all of us. My point is that you might get hit by one tomorrow and then not be around anymore. With Positech being just you, that has connotations for your customers.

(Maybe you could build an unprotected version to be released in the event of your death? :shock: )

</morbid>

LOL /morbid. Why don't we just have it so cliffski leaves the copyrights to his games to the GPL so we can do whatever we want with them if he has an untimely demise. Hey Cliff you like how we're talking about your death?????? :lol:

Return to “Democracy 2”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest